Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Wow, this is so good I can't stop eating it. Good thing it makes a ton! Only things I changed was to use vegetable juice instead of tomato juice because it's what I had on hand and I did not add any water. Looking forward to having this as my lunch this week at work. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I sooo needed a pick me up soup for feeling icky! And this totally helped. My dad used to make this for him and I when we were on the "Dolly Pardon Diet" in the late 80's. And way, this is just as I remember it. Other then the can of green beans. But that doesn't matter. The only thing other then following it as close to a T as possible was not having whole peeled tomatoes or quarts of tomatoe juice. I had to sub, and glad I did, with 2 cans of Stewed tomatoes & V-8 juice. And after talking to may dad..he said he never used plain tomatoe juice in this recipe, always V-8. But it tastes just great. I think with the sub changes I had to make, I'll keep them the same on the next go around. Be sure....just a huge stock pot. Because I forgot how much this actually makes. It's really a delish recipe and it's a winner in my books. While myself and my girls love this style of soup, my guys aren't so much into cooked cabbage. But you will be surprise on how delicious it is even after about 3 days in the frig. It also freezes very well in smaller portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is very filling, tastey, and healthy. Totally satisfies with hardly any calories. It gets five stars for these reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is my third time making this soup, it's so yummy!! I use spicy hot v8 and use 5 beef bullion cubes and water in place of the beef stock. I salt my bowl of soup not the pot, and add two tablespoons of reduced fat parmesan cheese to my bowl. This really is a great recipe!!! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I liked this, however I did add some cayenne pepper to it for a little bit of heat, and my husband browned some extra lean ground beef to add to his to give it a little more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I like to add a jar of sauerkraut and use low-sodium vegetable juice to give it a little more flavor. If you like spicey, you could use the spicey vegetable juice or spicey tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was not to my liking. I made a huge batch exactly as written. All the hot sauce in the world couldn't save it as well as adding bullion cubes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Tasty and easy soup to make. I have no idea about the "fat burning" properties but looking at the calorie count I can see why you would loose weight eating this and this alone. even though it is a healthy soup I would not make it the staple of your diet. you need WAY more calories in a day then just 3 bowls of this soup will give you. but it makes a TON and it is great for a quick lunch w/ a sammy or as an appetizer before a large meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this soup to help me and my hubby lose about 10 pounds. I'm by far not overweight but like myself better about 10 pounds lighter. THe soup tastes great... my daughter even loved it and wanted to be able to eat it as well and she is a picky eater. I did add some spices to it as well. I only plan on eating this for lunches only. We shall see if I can lose that pesky 10 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
it did what it was intended to to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Litzen Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoven, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States