Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I made some changes, started this June 27th, down 6 lbs AFTER stuffing my face for 4th of July! Used V8 juice as recommended by others instead of plain tomato juice, used a head of broccoli instead of celery, used red & orange bell peppers instead of green, had beefy onion soup mix so used that, had the carrots cut into chunks like another reviewer suggested (good call!), and boiled 3 chicken breasts, shredded them and added to the soup. Salt to taste. DELICIOUS! So good my mom tried mine and asked me to make her a batch! It reminded us both of Campbell's Vegetable soup back in the day (no idea if it tastes the same now). I could never eat just this all day every day even though it's tasty. Instead I've been using it as at least one meal replacement. Healthy breakfast, soup for lunch (sometimes with, sometimes without triscuits), generally whatever for dinner. This soup is SO low in calories that even a bad day can end with not going over my calorie goals for the day. I exercise regularly but love to eat so this soup has been a great boost in weight loss. I've NEVER lost weight so fast and I'm not hungry! If I get hungry, I have a bowl of this soup! Very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is so good. I added a bit of Tabasco sauce for a little kick, a little vinegar, worcestershire sauce and some spinach, because I'm low on iron and I love spinach lol. I like my veggies a little crunchy so I simmered til al dente. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by live2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Great soup, very filling and economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This recipe is great! I love cabbage, so instead of this being a "diet" soup for me, it seemed more like a treat! And I love that you can eat as much as you want anytime you're hungry! Getting ready to drop some unwanted extra pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I made this soup this morning, I have to say it is delish! I had to tweak it just a bit, cause I didn't quite have everything instead of celery I used up grilled corn and unfortunatly I did not have onion soup mix so I used Mrs. Dash. The cans of tomato had green chiles which I thought gave it just the right amount of heat. I love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe works best if the "packaged onion soup mix" is omitted. I used fresh tomatoes (with skins removed) and fresh green beans. The difference in taste using fresh ingredients is worth the expense. And if you grow your own tomatoes and green beans, there's no extra expense. It's OK to not put in two quarts of commercial tomato juice that is loaded with salt. Just salt to taste, not according to what's in packaged soups and juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Good basic recipe. I agree with one reviewer that said it had too much cabbage (and I had a very large head), so it was cut to a half head. It needed a little flavor enhancing so I added: 1-1/2 tsp oregano, 1 tsp basil, 2 tsp granulated garlic (try 1 tsp first just in case you like to limit garlic), 1 tsp black pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper to give it a kick. One note: be prepared for the volume of flatulence that ensues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Wow! This is a great recipe!! I wasn't looking for the Cabbage soup diet, I have been looking for a cabbage soup recipe like the one my Grandma used to make and this was pretty darn close! I LOVE that it happens to be low in calories and makes a huge pot, just like Grandma's! I did add about 4 fresh garlic cloves(crushed), and some fresh ground pepper. (I love you Grandma, but yours was a little bland.) Oh, and like my Grandma, I added 4 red potato's cut in small pieces and let it simmer on the stove for about 4 hours. Everyone in the family LOVED it!!! No even knows it is supposed to be low-calorie. Yes, I know adding those 4 small red potato's alter's the magic of the soup! It is still good for you, and taste great!! My Grandma would have been proud of me for hand chopping all those veggies so nicely! I think she would have loved this soup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Very good, but next time I will make a fourth of this! This made so much, until we got sick of it. But definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Holy Smokes! I generally am not one for soups but this one is a winner! It's satisfying, tasty, hearty and overall a great soup. My entire family loves it and there is NEVER EVER any waste or throwing away leftovesr cause IT'S GONE! Thanks for the recipe. The oool thing about this soup you can add skinless chicken breast, cook it longer (3hrs+)for a variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States