Cabbage-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Oh this was absolutely delicious. I did halve the recipe for the two of us and baked it in an 8 x 8 dish. Wow, it was soooo good. Served it with Best City Chicken (AR) and steamed, buttered rice. We both really enjoyed the combination, and I KNOW this will be made again and again. Thanks, Paula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
OH MY GOSH! Thank your grandmother for passing this one on! It was SO DELCIOUS! I have a new favorite! Everyone love love loved it! I made it to accompany bbq ribs and baked potatos. I left in in bigger pieces than grated and thin sliced IT was the PERFECT match! Can't wait to eat the leftovers today~ Thanks again! SOOOOOOOO YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bggv62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturtevant, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe is fantastic -- I've made it twice in the last week and we've eaten it up -- it's so good I could drink it! This will definitely be a staple in our home! BTW I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
surprisingly yummy! this will be on our regular list for sure. it doesn't call for too much cheese so it's pretty healthy and the taste is really great! a winner all around. thank you!!!!! I did use chili powder instead of paprika as that is all I had, turned out great. doesn't even need salt which is surprising. I did add a touch of pepper at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made recipe exactly as written except used vegetable bouillon cubes. My husband and I really enjoyed this. I will make again, but will most likely double it to freeze for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
If you like cooked cabbage, this recipe is for YOU. These ingredients meld so well together. I halved the recipe since there were only 2 of us, and we had plenty for lunch the next day also. I served this with 'Grilled Chicken Wings with Sweet Red Chili and Peach Glaze', another AR recipe. These 2 dishes went well together and we had a great dinner. Thanks Paula for sharing your recipe, I'm really glad this recipe got published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I'll make this again, it's quick to prepare and a good dish for a light, meatless supper. My vegetables cooked in 10 minutes, I used 1 tsp of Better than Bouillon in place of stock cubes. I made the sauce w/1 TBSP each of olive oil and butter, before baking I sprinkled the top with a few TBSP of panko crumbs that had been mixed with a drizzle of olive oil. I baked the casserole in a 7X11 pyrex dish for just under 20 minutes. Make sure you drain the cabbage and carrots really well before placing in the baking dish as they hold a lot of water. I put mine in a large wire strainer and pressed out any remaining liquid with the back of a serving spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very good! Followed the recipe to a "t" and it came out great. I served this with some kielbasa for a quick weeknight dinner. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Had to substitute olive oil for the butter and used low fat cheese, but this was good! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very very good. Don't boil the cabbage and carrots nearly as long as stated. (maybe less than half the time) Otherwise follow the recipe. I didn't add the paprika, but it sounds good. (Maybe smoked paproka) ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States