Cabbage-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Oh this was absolutely delicious. I did halve the recipe for the two of us and baked it in an 8 x 8 dish. Wow, it was soooo good. Served it with Best City Chicken (AR) and steamed, buttered rice. We both really enjoyed the combination, and I KNOW this will be made again and again. Thanks, Paula!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I made this casserole for the first time January 2012, when it was still a "personal" recipe that Paula so graciously shared back then. This was my Review, as follows: "CABBAGE-CARROT CASSEROLE” ~ We BOTH really liked this casserole! My husband does not usually comment, but he did this time. I used freshly grated Colby-jack cheese for the cheese sauce (good) because that is all I had, but would also like to try mild cheddar as Paula suggested. Nice to find a new recipe that is a keeper. I did NOT use chicken broth. For the cheese sauce, I used half reserved broth from draining the cooked cabbage/carrots (in water) and half non-fat milk (did use real butter though). Creamy and delish. I forgot to sprinkle on the paprika. SO SIMPLE BUT GOOD. WE THANK YOU PAULA, AND YOUR GRANDMA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
OH MY GOSH! Thank your grandmother for passing this one on! It was SO DELCIOUS! I have a new favorite! Everyone love love loved it! I made it to accompany bbq ribs and baked potatos. I left in in bigger pieces than grated and thin sliced IT was the PERFECT match! Can't wait to eat the leftovers today~ Thanks again! SOOOOOOOO YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bggv62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturtevant, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe is fantastic -- I've made it twice in the last week and we've eaten it up -- it's so good I could drink it! This will definitely be a staple in our home! BTW I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
surprisingly yummy! this will be on our regular list for sure. it doesn't call for too much cheese so it's pretty healthy and the taste is really great! a winner all around. thank you!!!!! I did use chili powder instead of paprika as that is all I had, turned out great. doesn't even need salt which is surprising. I did add a touch of pepper at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made recipe exactly as written except used vegetable bouillon cubes. My husband and I really enjoyed this. I will make again, but will most likely double it to freeze for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
If you like cooked cabbage, this recipe is for YOU. These ingredients meld so well together. I halved the recipe since there were only 2 of us, and we had plenty for lunch the next day also. I served this with 'Grilled Chicken Wings with Sweet Red Chili and Peach Glaze', another AR recipe. These 2 dishes went well together and we had a great dinner. Thanks Paula for sharing your recipe, I'm really glad this recipe got published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Had to substitute olive oil for the butter and used low fat cheese, but this was good! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Very very good. Don't boil the cabbage and carrots nearly as long as stated. (maybe less than half the time) Otherwise follow the recipe. I didn't add the paprika, but it sounds good. (Maybe smoked paproka) ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is the first time i have ever commented on a recipe-thats how good this dish is!. I only did halve also and am VERY sorry i did. The recipe was easy and i didn't change a thing! Thanks so much for sharing this new favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States