Cabbage-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Wow, I got an unsolicited "I like it" almost immediately from the girl child, 15. I halved the recipe, not knowing if we'd have a hit. Being me, though, since I'd already cut the carrots; measured the butter, flour, milk & cheese with the full amount; I guess you could say I halved the cabbage & paprika. Yups & since I didn't have enough to fill the 8x8 dish, I added leftover angel hair pasta, 2c? I sprinkled with panko, parsley & paprika. It's homey, comfort food. Good for winter. Btw, I'd think the full medium cabbage (mine was 2#) wouldn't have a problem fitting in the 8x8/9x9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I'll make this again, it's quick to prepare and a good dish for a light, meatless supper. My vegetables cooked in 10 minutes, I used 1 tsp of Better than Bouillon in place of stock cubes. I made the sauce w/1 TBSP each of olive oil and butter, before baking I sprinkled the top with a few TBSP of panko crumbs that had been mixed with a drizzle of olive oil. I baked the casserole in a 7X11 pyrex dish for just under 20 minutes. Make sure you drain the cabbage and carrots really well before placing in the baking dish as they hold a lot of water. I put mine in a large wire strainer and pressed out any remaining liquid with the back of a serving spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I rated this recipe 4 stars because we absolutely loved it, but I did make changes to it. I boiled the cabbage and carrots for about half the time, and added sauteed pork and onion that I sprinkled with garlic powder. I think it would be good with chicken as well. I didn't make any changes to the cheese sauce, and it was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Lee Testar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Eh. Nothing spectacular. I guess I was expecting something that tasted different than steamed cabbage that you made on the stovetop. To me, baking it didn't add much of a flavor profile or make it any different that stovetop cabbage dishes. There was leftovers, and we will be using it as stuffing for beirocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I added a package of diced ham to this and it was good. I am also looking for a bit more flavor, but can't think of what to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Madison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willsboro, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very good! Followed the recipe to a "t" and it came out great. I served this with some kielbasa for a quick weeknight dinner. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Crystal Riddick
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Delicious! The only thing I did different is use 1 bouillon cube instead of 2. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Riddick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Easy and good. Perfect family style side. I used a bag of shredded cabbage and carrots, adding an extra carrot (I made a half recipe). I put in individual baking cups for a different presentation. Came together very well, I mixed it all up and refrigerated for a bit before throwing in the oven. Very economical too, thanks for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Clever way to make a meatless cabbage dish that is tasty, nutritious, and low calorie. Tasted the cabbage and carrots after coating with cheese sauce, and a bit more zing was needed to suit our tastes. Added sazon seasoning and a dash cayenne powder. Topped the casserole with herb seasoned bread crumbs and shredded cheddar cheese. This is a versatile dish, and easily customized to individual tastes and/or adding favorite ingredients. Used about a 60% red (1 medium)/40% green (1 small) fresh cabbage mixture mainly for the much greater antioxidant power of the red variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I definitely did not cook the cabbage for as long as instructed. I would say altogether this took about 30 minutes- I cut up the cabbage and started boiling it before tossing the carrots (and a parsnip) into the mix. I used homemade turkey broth instead of bouillon and mixed a bit of smoked paprika into the roux. Took it to a potluck and came home with an empty casserole dish. I call that success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States