Cabbage Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My toddler daughter really likes these. I used applesauce instead of the vegetable oil, used whole wheat flour, and added kale and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These cakes were okay. I ate them with Frank's Red Hot sauce because by themselves they weren't that great. I didn't have carraway seeds to add like other reviewers recommended. I also tried sour cream and cilantro as a topping and wasn't crazy about it. I would make these again if I had to use up some cabbage, but I would not by cabbage just to make this. In the future I think I would carmelize the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great side dish. I used self-rising flour so I did not have to add the baking powder or baking soda. I also didn't have plain yogurt, so I used sour cream. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
not a big fan, I added more seasoning and I still think these are bland. They would be a great vehicle for something else. I think they taste a lot like a standard pancake so I may be serving the left overs with syrup in the morning and telling my kids they are pancakes. Tonight I think I will serve them with apple sauce. benefit, my kids will eat them (I hope) and get some greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My husband and I love these. I add some ground turkey and bell pepper and corn, and cumin to this mix. We eat it as a main dish served with salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Yum! I even used vanilla yogurt (all I had) and my niece thought they were dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The cabbage cakes were okay. I felt there was too much baking powder. I cut the batch into two bowls, leaving one true to the original recipe and the other mixing in mustard and caraway seeds as suggested. neither really did it for me or my husband. I don't think I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Loved these! I added alot more salt though after trying the first batch. I also traded 1 cup of rye flour for all purpose. I also included shredded carrots. Comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I took a chance on this recipe and was surprised. My MIL loves cabbage and I love having a new way to surprise her. She was VERY impressed. She had the left over cakes for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I liked these but my 4yo did not. I did add a little salt and pepper to the cabbage as it was sauteing. Served with sour cream and bacon as another reviewer suggested. These had a bit of an aftertaste maybe due to the large amount of baking powder. Not sure if I will make these again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States