Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
These are just like the ones my mom made. I add extra spice and black pepper. We like to dip ours in assorted spicy mustards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
try it with cabbage, hamburger meat, and taco seasoning. its really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I found that this was easy enough, but there wasn't much flavor. Suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Back in Nebraska, we call these Runzas. I add a lot of pepper and paprika. My mother also throws in some bacon, sauteed mushrooms and swiss cheese. My grandmother adds Velveeta. You can add more flavor by adding sauteed peppers or adding chili pepper. These freeze really well. If you're ever in Nebraska, you can try all the varieties at the Runza restaraunts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
For those that asked for suggestions for flavor...with everything we make in our home, I added cajun seasoning and garlic powder in addition to the chopped garlic, onion powder in addition to the chopped onion. We love seasoning, I grew up in a home that lacked spice(we had salt, pepper, oregano and garlic salt-lol) and oh did that change when I began cooking on my own!! So for the man looking for suggestions...there is my input...I season everything from the first time I make it. We also as another reviewer dip our "burgers" in mustard. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I have been searching for this recipe for YEARS! My old elementary school used to make these & all the kids would throw them away! I would take as many home as I could carry, after I ate as many as I could! Those kids didn't know what they were missing!!! The schools no longer make their own foods now & the lunch lady had retired. I didn't know anyone with the recipe. I'm going to run to the store & get the ingredients so I can make them for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I also have searched for this recipe for years! They served them often at the school where I resided. The wonderful cook (Mrs. M) would leave a hole in them so that we could squirt ketchup and mustard into them...no drip, no mess and we actually used to barter for them!! Thank you so much for sharing!! I can't wait to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I love this recipe! You can put anything in them...even chicken, veggies, etc. It is very versatile. Our family likes them with ground turkey and served with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
It wasn't awful, but it was pretty bland. If you have to keep changing it by adding your own spices and other ingredients, it is not the same as the original reicpe. I had trouble with the dough, i used pizza dough, is that why?? And I had tons of the filling left over. It does have potential, but you have to tweak the recipe too much to make a difference and so, what's the point? I prefer recipes you don't have to change much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Mmm Mmm Mmm. Just like my mom used to make when I lived in Nebraska. I wouldn't change a thing, except just putting some shredded cheese. Homemade runzas are just toooo good compared to actually going and buying them from Runza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Edward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States