Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Really, really good. could maybe use a gravy of some kind in it, or some kind of sauce. But even on it's own it's really good. Even my 4 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Prefece my comments with the fact that I am a picky eater. This dish looked like nothing I would've ever touched much less prepared it myself AND ate it. It was really, really good though. I used italian sausage instead of the hamburger though and added some of the vegetables & spices that other reviewers suggested. My husband and I both decided that we prefered it without the bun but it was good inside the bun too. Honestly, if you make this and look in the pan and start to wonder, eat it anyway! It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
For those of you who have lived in Nebraska, we used to call these "Runza Burgers" for the chain of restaurants that spread throughout the state! I remember these as a kid, and my mother figured out how to make them herself. She would make her own homemade bread dough, stuff them with the filling and bake them. Definitely yummy old fashioned goodness. I think I'll take a trip down memory lane this weekend and make these for the company I have coming this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These were good but a tiny bit bland. Next time I will probably add worcestershire sauce and pepper. I added a little bacon, mushrooms and swiss. It was good but needed a sauce of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added Worcestershire sauce (about 5 Tbsp) and nutmeg (about 2.5 tsp), as well as 2 tsp or so of crushed red pepper. I also doubled the onions and garlic, and with these modifications, I thought the flavor was outstanding. I made the bread dough from scratch (a slightly sweet dough with an egg in it). All in all, this was quite tasty, but it also seemed relatively labor intensive for a week night meal. It reminded me of empanadas . . . except that I still like empanadas better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I make these with homemade bread dough. We like to add diced green chile and montery jack cheese. I also like to add a lot of garlic powder and onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Cabbage burgers are a common item in areas with Volga Deutsch (Germans from Russia) populations. My friends requested I make some and I didn't have a recipe so I turned here. I found the filling as is a tad bland, so I added some Worcestershire sauce as others suggested. That made the difference. Also, I was unsure what a "large" head of cabbage was, and was using the ones from my garden so I did equal parts of chopped cabbage to meat. Also took another suggestion, and got frozen texas rolls as my dough. Fast, easy and tasty! Have made them 4 times this summer since the first time, always with garden cabbage and even with fresh ground antelope. Quite delish. I have been wrapping them individually in waxed paper and freezing them as easy lunch box fillers. 2 minutes in the microwave at work and viola! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Easy and flavorful! My family loved them, no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I make these regularly using a friend's recipe. The only difference is that I use about 1/4 as much meat and make my own bread. It sounds really hearty with these proportions, like a meal for working men on a cold day. Definitely going to add Worcestershire as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These are delicious but it is INSANE to claim you can brown the burger in 1 min prep time let alone do all the chopping and assembling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States