Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Love these! Another way I have made them is cook the hamburger, shredded cabbage and 1 envelope dried onion soup mix(to 3lbs hamburger) all at once in 1 pan with enough water to cook the cabbage. Stir to mix well. The hamburger pieces are then smaller, more uniform. I try to gauge the liquid amount so there is not a lot left when all is done. I also use jumbo refrigerated biscuits, 2 rolled together to form a 'tortilla' appearance. I place a hunk of cheese in the middle, a spoon of the meat/cabbage mixture on top, gather the edges and pinch them shut. Flip the runza over and bake at 350 until the biscuit is golden. This variation came directly from Omaha. The cheese melted inside makes them wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
my elementary school made these 50 yrs. ago. they called them "german b rocks". when the ladies made these from scratch, my mother would buy my lunch. they were so good. i make them to this day, using this recipe. my husband calls them "puffs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindybee
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was very good but the meat needs to be more seasoned. I added smoked paprika, seasoned salt, nutmeg and extra garlic. I will make these again but will add perhaps red peppers and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These are really good and pretty easy. I would give them 5 stars except that they don't have a whole lot of flavor. I used dough that I made in the bread machine, which worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Make sure that the dough is thick enough so that they don't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These were so yum. I was looking for a recipe to use a head of cabbage staring at me in the fridge. I thought these sounded interesting and I was pleasantly surprised. Excited to have compact leftovers to put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellainsect

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I used one loaf of frozen bread and got 6 burgers. Added a pinch of nutmeg as suggested by another reviewer. These were enjoyed by all; served with some homemade applesauce. YUM... Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I am one of the lucky ones to have found a "Runza" restaurant in my town in CO 30yrs ago. Ever after, I tried to perfect the recipe. I also use the amounts of everything except 1-1/2 lbs lean burger. I have a couple suggestions to help in the dry and bland issues. I barely brown the burger, then add the cabbage and only cook part way. This keeps the finished product moister. I use plenty of black pepper, garlic and onion salt or powder. We love them SOOOO much that I don't bother to do the chicken/mushroom or sausage ones any more. Try a food processor to shred the cabbage to speed things up. Thanks to the people with the Russian/German relatives. I also came from ND, but had lutefisk from the Swedes instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It was excellent!! First time I made it and we did well. Our only issue was having only one pan to cook the burgers on, so our dough got moist. We only "ruined" two out of 18. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Curtis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This turned out as a hit in my house, even with my big picky eater, my husband. He originally said he wasn't going to even try them but was very suprised by them. I could not find the dough in our local commissary but just made a batch of wheat bread dough and used that. filling them did have a learning curve and half of mine turned out with twice as much bread as filling but still tasted great. The filling was a little bland but I will be trying some other add ins when I have the time to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States