Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Heidi Lee
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I cut the recipe to one loaf home baked bread and one pound ground meats (equal parts veal, beef, pork ). 1/4 cabbage, splash of water, 2 T dried onion, 1/2 t nutmeg, 1/4 c a1 steak sauce, 2 cloves garlic. Really tasty, easy to assemble. My version yielded 8. Next time, I will brush each with beaten egg before baking. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
We followed the recipe as written. We added nothing that wasn't listed but I wish we had. This was one of the blandest recipes I have tried. All we could taste was bread. The filling was practically tasteless. Also, the cabbage/beef mix measurements are excessive. We had just as much filling left as we used. Because I still have much filling left, I am going to add, add, and add some more seasoning to it, and try again tomorrow. If I did not have filling left I would not make this recipe again. I recommend veering from trying the recipe as written. It seems most the positive reviews are reviewing bierocks from childhood or a majorly modified recipe. I recommend everyone try one or two bierocks as written before stuffing all the bread so you can modify to taste before committing to the as written flavor on all the burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I loved this recipe (base). Some of the other reviewers added tips that I used the second time to improve the recipe as the original tasted too bland. The second time I added a few cut up slices of bacon, Worcestershire, 1 packet onion soup mix, and nutmeg. This improved it to to 5 stars in my book! Also tried with mustard to dip and it was good too although not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have been making this recipe for 42 plus years. It was handed down through my husbands Grandmother, a German immigrant from Russia in the early 1900s. Most of my husbands family makes these also and we all love them. In fact we have a cabbage roll festival annually where cabbage rolls are made abundantly and everyone brings a side dish or desert and we have fun family togetherness...sometimes we have more than 60 people attending, so it is a fun party. And, we are all hearty Minnesotans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Holy cow was looking for something fun for the family and this was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
As is, they are rather bland but a good idea. Made own bread instead of frozen. Also, to go in a slightly different direct, season like beef goulash - look for Chef John's recipe on this site. Use a lot of paprika and other pepper, balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce, and some tomato paste. Next time I'll add some shredded carrot, too. Good topped with a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robocat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
i'm a nebraska boy and go to runza hut whenever i get back. in the meantime these are just as good, doctor them as you like, for 45 yrs i like them with tsatsiki,yougurt, onion, and cucumber, not traditional, but hell it's good. got a good deal on corned beef, cooked it put in the food processor, and made it that way. this recipe is indigenous to at least a dozen cultures i know of, with 20 different names, and all are fantastic. guten appetit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Ugh I LOVE this recipe... We are from Nebraska and LOVE Runza..We live in Wisconsin now so we were really missing this wonderful food and now we can make it anytime!! We made it for friends and they were obsessed... next time we will try to make a homemade bread dough... that might make it more perfect!! Thanks for sharing the recipe.. I like that it is simple and doesn't have a lot of extra added spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We call these bierocks. i love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States