Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I first had these when I lived in Lincoln, NE. I don't know why runza huts haven't caught on in other states! I used half sausage, half ground beef, shredded carrot and onion, nutmeg and worcestershire, no cheese. To my mind, the nutmeg and worcestershire sauce are the "secret ingredients". Flatten the dough out and cup it in the palm of one hand while you fill with the other, using a slotted spoon so excess liquid will drain off first. Then pinch the edges together while still in your hand. I've made these for my family for over 30 years and they beg for them. A friend has a recipe for bierocks that is an old German dish, but pretty much the same recipe except she uses sauerkraut instead of cabbage, and swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Back in Nebraska, we call these Runzas. I add a lot of pepper and paprika. My mother also throws in some bacon, sauteed mushrooms and swiss cheese. My grandmother adds Velveeta. You can add more flavor by adding sauteed peppers or adding chili pepper. These freeze really well. If you're ever in Nebraska, you can try all the varieties at the Runza restaraunts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I have made the original recipe (which is delicious), but have since taken the original concept and expanded on it. I have made these with ham, swiss and mushrooms; chicken, broccoli and cheese; sauted vegetables; ruebens; and taco meat, cheese, olives and tomatoes. So many options yet to try. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These were really yummy! A totally cool new dinner. I'm down south and have never heard of these, but they sounded so good. My grocery store was out of the bread dough in loaves, so I got a package of the dinner rolls instead (same dough, just in little balls). I think it may have worked even better - I rolled out two together once they had risen and it was just the right size. HOWEVER I made the brilliant choice to place the rolled out dough on pieces of waxed paper stacked together to make it easier. BIG MISTAKE! haha... the dough stuck so badly to the wax paper it wasn't even funny! But that was my mistake... I cut the recipe to 1/3 (only 3 of us in the house) and it was still way more than 6 burgers worth. Probably enough for 8-10 more! So I froze it to use next time. The flavor could have been dressed up a little, but overall I thought these things were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
We REALLY enjoyed these! Don't be afraid to try them if cabbage isn't your favorite. My family loved them even though. I made a whole wheat bread in the bread maker to use. Later, I made a breakfast one with sausage, onion, green pepper, potato, egg and cheese...I have more ideas to try too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These are great!! My mother-in-law makes these for her farmboys all the time. Once you've made them a few times, you can go quickly. And these freeze very, very well. Just pop them in the microwave for a nice lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
These were excellent. I took a reviewer's recommendation and added worsteshire sauce and nutmeg. I think this made a difference. I can see how they would be bland otherwise. I'll make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORISPAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnebago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
These are the best things ever! Don't be put off by the name. I have made these several times now and they are always a huge hit! I always seem to end up making several batches.The cabbage in the mixture is the best part... don't leave it out! I add some more garlic and onion to mine to give it a bit extra flavor. Best eaten with any type of mustard. These are time consuming to make, though. Especially at first until I got the hang of it. EXCELLENT DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I also have searched for this recipe for years! They served them often at the school where I resided. The wonderful cook (Mrs. M) would leave a hole in them so that we could squirt ketchup and mustard into them...no drip, no mess and we actually used to barter for them!! Thank you so much for sharing!! I can't wait to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These were great I put a slice of pepperjack cheese on top of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States