Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Thought this sounded interesting so thought I would try. I seasoned my ground beef by adding seasoning salt, dried onion instead of fresh and added a few other spices (all Penzey's spices). These were very good but a little time consuming. Next time, I am sure it will be easier since I have an idea of how they are to turn out. Forgot to add some cheese as other reviewers suggested. Will try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Kind of bland in flavor, I would probably add some spices next time. I also modified half of the filling because my boyfriend doesn't like cabbage. I added dill pickle relish and shredded cheese. He thought that version was delicious. I don't know if I would make this again because it seemed like a big production to put them together and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cromwell, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These were really yummy! A totally cool new dinner. I'm down south and have never heard of these, but they sounded so good. My grocery store was out of the bread dough in loaves, so I got a package of the dinner rolls instead (same dough, just in little balls). I think it may have worked even better - I rolled out two together once they had risen and it was just the right size. HOWEVER I made the brilliant choice to place the rolled out dough on pieces of waxed paper stacked together to make it easier. BIG MISTAKE! haha... the dough stuck so badly to the wax paper it wasn't even funny! But that was my mistake... I cut the recipe to 1/3 (only 3 of us in the house) and it was still way more than 6 burgers worth. Probably enough for 8-10 more! So I froze it to use next time. The flavor could have been dressed up a little, but overall I thought these things were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I first had these when I lived in Lincoln, NE. I don't know why runza huts haven't caught on in other states! I used half sausage, half ground beef, shredded carrot and onion, nutmeg and worcestershire, no cheese. To my mind, the nutmeg and worcestershire sauce are the "secret ingredients". Flatten the dough out and cup it in the palm of one hand while you fill with the other, using a slotted spoon so excess liquid will drain off first. Then pinch the edges together while still in your hand. I've made these for my family for over 30 years and they beg for them. A friend has a recipe for bierocks that is an old German dish, but pretty much the same recipe except she uses sauerkraut instead of cabbage, and swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe. I am from the Midwest and this is a family favorite. I freeze them and use as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this is a true cabbage burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This was great, just like my grandpa used to make. These also freeze well to make a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Mmm Mmm Mmm. Just like my mom used to make when I lived in Nebraska. I wouldn't change a thing, except just putting some shredded cheese. Homemade runzas are just toooo good compared to actually going and buying them from Runza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Edward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
It wasn't awful, but it was pretty bland. If you have to keep changing it by adding your own spices and other ingredients, it is not the same as the original reicpe. I had trouble with the dough, i used pizza dough, is that why?? And I had tons of the filling left over. It does have potential, but you have to tweak the recipe too much to make a difference and so, what's the point? I prefer recipes you don't have to change much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I love this recipe! You can put anything in them...even chicken, veggies, etc. It is very versatile. Our family likes them with ground turkey and served with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States