Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I make these with homemade bread dough. We like to add diced green chile and montery jack cheese. I also like to add a lot of garlic powder and onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Cabbage burgers are a common item in areas with Volga Deutsch (Germans from Russia) populations. My friends requested I make some and I didn't have a recipe so I turned here. I found the filling as is a tad bland, so I added some Worcestershire sauce as others suggested. That made the difference. Also, I was unsure what a "large" head of cabbage was, and was using the ones from my garden so I did equal parts of chopped cabbage to meat. Also took another suggestion, and got frozen texas rolls as my dough. Fast, easy and tasty! Have made them 4 times this summer since the first time, always with garden cabbage and even with fresh ground antelope. Quite delish. I have been wrapping them individually in waxed paper and freezing them as easy lunch box fillers. 2 minutes in the microwave at work and viola! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Easy and flavorful! My family loved them, no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I make these regularly using a friend's recipe. The only difference is that I use about 1/4 as much meat and make my own bread. It sounds really hearty with these proportions, like a meal for working men on a cold day. Definitely going to add Worcestershire as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These are delicious but it is INSANE to claim you can brown the burger in 1 min prep time let alone do all the chopping and assembling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My family really loved this recipe. We used ground turkey instead of beef. Next time I make it i think im going to try adding the worchestershire sauce. I did add more onion and lots more garlic. Prep time took longer than 1 minute lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I still remember how delicious these were when my aunt would bring them to fields durig wheat havest in western Nebraska with bbq sauce for dipping. These are far superior to the chain restaurant runza-no comparison. Thanks for bringing back a cherished food memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookiesMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I scaled this down to four servings to use 1 pound of ground beef. Per Mels' suggestion, used frozen rolls instead of loaves. Next time, will try with one roll for bottom and one for top. It made 6 VERY large burgers. Also used preshredded packaged cabbage and no water. Hubby loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Fleisch Kiechle! That's what we called this wonderful comfort food in ND--I grew up in a little town where the hearty food of the German-Russians always satisfied. There were several variations on this recipie, but this one is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe. I had to use 5 loaves of bread dough, probably because I wasn't patient enough to let them rise completely. My husband and I can't get enough of these, even find ourselves snacking on them in between meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States