Cabbage Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
As is, they are rather bland but a good idea. Made own bread instead of frozen. Also, to go in a slightly different direct, season like beef goulash - look for Chef John's recipe on this site. Use a lot of paprika and other pepper, balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce, and some tomato paste. Next time I'll add some shredded carrot, too. Good topped with a little sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robocat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
i'm a nebraska boy and go to runza hut whenever i get back. in the meantime these are just as good, doctor them as you like, for 45 yrs i like them with tsatsiki,yougurt, onion, and cucumber, not traditional, but hell it's good. got a good deal on corned beef, cooked it put in the food processor, and made it that way. this recipe is indigenous to at least a dozen cultures i know of, with 20 different names, and all are fantastic. guten appetit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Ugh I LOVE this recipe... We are from Nebraska and LOVE Runza..We live in Wisconsin now so we were really missing this wonderful food and now we can make it anytime!! We made it for friends and they were obsessed... next time we will try to make a homemade bread dough... that might make it more perfect!! Thanks for sharing the recipe.. I like that it is simple and doesn't have a lot of extra added spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We call these bierocks. i love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent! They give the impression that they are difficult to make but they are very easy and quick. They also reheat very well. Great excuse to eat more cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Curious about the name of this burger alone so i decided to make it. I added onion soup as suggested by one reviewer and pepperjack cheese. The cabbage pretty much morphed into texture and taste of onion given combination of the other ingredients. Honestly this tasted like a really moist and tender upscale Kystal burger - Not bad but nothing really to rave about. I Tried it.. no longer curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Very fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Mom makes these. Called Shproutzic. She uses sauerkraut & cooked pork roast, chopped fine. Awesome! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Love these! Another way I have made them is cook the hamburger, shredded cabbage and 1 envelope dried onion soup mix(to 3lbs hamburger) all at once in 1 pan with enough water to cook the cabbage. Stir to mix well. The hamburger pieces are then smaller, more uniform. I try to gauge the liquid amount so there is not a lot left when all is done. I also use jumbo refrigerated biscuits, 2 rolled together to form a 'tortilla' appearance. I place a hunk of cheese in the middle, a spoon of the meat/cabbage mixture on top, gather the edges and pinch them shut. Flip the runza over and bake at 350 until the biscuit is golden. This variation came directly from Omaha. The cheese melted inside makes them wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States