Cabbage Borscht Mennonite Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is much like my mother's borscht- here's a tip: she peels the potatoes and puts them in whole (instead of cubing them). When they soften, she cradles them in a large spoon and uses a fork to break them into bite sized chunks and. For some reason, THIS MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE. I know not why. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by delicious
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
this is a fabulous homemade soup just like my mother in laws thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Popkum, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made this with chicken instead of beef. Personal preference. Didn't have allspice berries or star anise. Used home canned tomatoes, fresh dill and it was excellent. Reminds me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars, but I used this as a basis to make my own Cabbage Borscht. Made 1/2 of the recipe, and was using up some things I had in the cupboard, like stew meat (I rolled in flour), beef broth and cream of onion soup and omitted the tomatoes, used about 1/4-1/3 cup of ketchup for tomato flavor. DH does not like soups or stews or anything tomato based. The broth turned out to be like a gravy. DH said he would eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica Speed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Good old-fashioned soup. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Almost exactly like the borscht recipe handed down from my russian grandmother. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because star anise is such a strong flavour and, to me, overpowers the soup. Instead, we use lots dill seed (wrapped in layered cheesecloth and simmered with the bones to infuse a lovely dill flavour into the broth). Dill and cabbage go so well together in this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this twice. I gave it 4 stars as I made is "as listed" first. Family and I liked it/didn't love it...but it did have merit as it is quite different. So I decided to try again and tweak a few things. For one the soup pictured looks quite pink from the tomato. Mine (first try) did not, so I doubled the tomato. Then I lost some of the flavor so I also doubled the allspice, bay and cream. I increased the pepper from a pinch to 1 tsp. Family really liked this version a lot/thinks its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Used up two soup bones, made it on a chilly November day. 4 of us enjoyed it, I'd say the consensus level was 'pretty good'. A couple of things: - it says it serves 8; I stayed pretty close to the listed ingredients and I'd say that it would easily serve 14. - my soup bones were surprisingly meaty, so probably a little more than a cup of chopped meat went in as well. - no one found it 'overly savoury'. I'd probably increase the flavorful stuff if I make it again. - couldnt' find star anise, so substituted 1/2 t. anise seed. - couldn't find whole allspice berries, so just threw in "some" ground allspice, about 2 t. I think. - memo to self... consider adding mortar and pestle to letter to Santa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States