Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredDad9877

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup...was a little chili like, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Cabbage Beef Soup Haiku: "Really liked this soup. (Thicker, and more like a stew.) Just missing ... something.) This soup was pretty well received at dinner b/c we adore cabbage, but it's just not quite as good as AR's "Cabbage Patch Stew"; still, I'm glad we tried this, and any meal's a win to me that's ready from morning in the crockpot, right to serving when I get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Excellent soup!! We couldn't get enough. We only used 2 bouillon cubes and added green beans, green pepper, celery and carrots. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Thanks for a great recipe! I have made this many, many times now and don't know why I haven't rated before. My son is allergic to chili powder and this has become our replacement for chili. I make it according to the directions except for substituting black beans for kidney beans. This recipe makes a flavourful, mild thick soup or thin chili. We serve with a bottle of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, guacamole, sour cream and either tortilla chips or warm French bread. This recipe freezes and reheats well. (Note: I have used both packaged coleslaw mix and fresh chopped cabbage. The fresh chopped cabbage provides a better texture for the cooked cabbage but I use the packaged if it is on sale or if I am trying to save on preparation time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I loved the soup. My husband not as much. I thought it was a great flavor, very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was great & simple. I used ground turkey instead of beef and in lieu of the tomato sauce I used 1 can Rotel tomatoes and 1 can Italian seasoned chopped tomatoes. It added a nice little kick. My husband really liked it so I know it was good! Giving 4 stars due to having made modifications. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A bit on the salty side. Omit the salt if sodium is a concern. Add the cabbage near the end if you like your veggies crisp like I do. I am not a big fan of cumin so I only used 1/8 tsp. Yes, it is very chilli-like and not really a soup. Try over rice and melting some cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demetria
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this last night in the crock pot and it was delicious! I added polish sausage, and used lean turkey vs. ground beef, 2 cans of light kidney beans, 2 cans of chopped tomoatoes, some fresh garlic clove, garlic powder, season salt, and I used an entire head of chopped cabbage and put the cabbage in last so that it would not get over cooked. I also did not add the water, because cabbage produces water when it cooks. I am giving this 5 stars because it was very flavorful and healthy using the ground turkey and light ingredients. I will post pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demetria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States