Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
As written, this recipe was just okay. This is basically a thin, bland chili with cabbage. People who rated it higher than 3 stars must have made some modifications to zest it up a bit. I personally found that some hot sauce perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very good! Used a bag of pre-shredd cabbage and carrots, and followed some of the reviews and used one can kidney beans and one can chili beans. Also used a large 24 oz can of Rotel in place of the tomato sauce, and just 1 cup of water. Yes, it is very much like chili with cabbage, but I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Home run. I did make a few changes as I'm on a diet and am diabetic so wanted to make it a little friendlier for me to eat. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also added a large can of diced tomatoes with juice in addition to the tomato sauce. And finally, I threw in an extra can of kidney beans to up the protein content and added about two tablespoons of minced garlic. We love garlic. Thanks for the post. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was so good. I added black beans and pinto beans in mine. It taste like chili when make it but with cabbage in it. Really good very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msjenipher1
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very good recipe. Only changes were that I swapped the kidney beans for chili beans w/sauce and added garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
good but make a hugh amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I was leary of cabbage in this chiliesque recipe but it is absolutely amazing. I perfer the cabbage crunchier so I added it after an hour of cooking. I also skipped the bouillon and replaced with 1 1/2 tsp of chili powder with cocoa. I also used turkey meat and olive oil instead and 15 oz of sauce with 15 oz of diced tomatoes. Gonna make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Fantastic! As soon as my husband and I finished it all I went right out to get more cabbage to make another pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I've made this a couple of times and the kids gobble it up. It's a great way to get cabbage into them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was Excellent!! I did however make some changes. I used ground Turkey, 1 can Kidney beans, 1 can Garbanzo beans, 3/4 cup Matchstick Carrots, 32 oz low sodium beef broth instead of bouillon cubes, 20 oz tomato sauce, 14 oz of chunky tomatoes, i originally used 5 cups of cabbage but half way through eating the soup I added more cabbage. So next time I think I would do like 8 cups of cabbage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States