Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I'm another fan of Shoney's cabbage beef soup and since they went out of business in my area I've been in serious withdrawal...I'm also trying to eat more healthy and this soup is ideal. I did make a few changes based on available ingredients and my personal preference of wanting a more spicy soup. Changes I made: I skipped the vegetable oil because I cooked the hamburger straight from a frozen block. I used ground chuck vs ground beef. I used one frozen bag of "stir fry mix" from dollar tree which has red and green bell peppers as well as onion in it along with about 1/4 cup dry chopped onion. I added a can of tomatoes with green chilies (rotel). I used a 27 ounce can of creole creme style red beans. I used 2 cups of beef broth and skipped the bouillon cubes. I used a 24 ounce jar of Basil pasta sauce and finally I used "french fry seasoning" for the salt and "garlic & pepper" for the pepper. I probably used 6 cups of cabbage as well...my only regret is not adding more cabbage after the first cabbage shrunk to make an even larger batch as I'd have more to freeze etc. I used a 7 quart slow cooker. I think next time I'd try some minced garlic instead of the garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I enjoyed this and it had a good flavor. Next time I will only use 1 can of beans though. I couldn't get a bite with fewer than 4 beans in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My husband andi really enjoyed this soup/stew. I made half the recipe. I followed the suggestions and I did not add cumin, added diced tomatoes, and 1 can of beef broth with 2 beef buillion cubes. I sautéed onion, celery, and carrots, and 2 cloves of garlic in olive oil seasoned with adobo seasoning and pepper. I added 3 allspice berries,a bay leaf and a little brown sugar and let it simmer for about an hour. I alao threw in some frozen mixed vegetable. Very thick and hearty. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My husband doesn't like things too tomato sauce*y so I only used a small low sodium can of tomato sauce. We have to eat low salt so I used low sodium vegetable broth for part of the water/cubes. I did have to add more water later. I love recipes that allow you to clean out the fridge/pantry so I used up a bell pepper, some carrots and lots of fresh garlic along with a whole onion. Used a can of Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes and a can of Ranch Style Beans. I also used my own spice mix. I realize I changed the recipe up, but this recipe lends itself to using up what you have and customizing it toward what your family eats. It was really good and even better today for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Healthy and Delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My toddler & I loved this! It reminded me of a thin, milder chili. When i make it again, I won't add nearly as much salt as the recipe calls for. It's great leftover too! I added canned tomatoes also. Overall, it is good... I will keep this recipe and cut the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Just taste like chili with cabbage. I even omitted the cumin, added basil, oregano, garlic, and bay leaves. I liked it because I love chili but my husband didn't like it :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My family loved this soup. I did make some changes recommended by other writers. I eliminated the 2 T. of oil (used Pam)when cooking meat and onions. I used 2 cans of dark red kidney beans rinsed and drained, 1 can of chili beans not drained, 2 -14.5 oz. cans of diced tomatoes, 15 oz. tomato sauce, 2 beef bouillon cubes, no cumin, 1/2 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, 1/2 t. garlic powder, 1/2 t. onion powder. I also did not add any water. Brought it to a boil and then put on the cover and cooked over med low heat for 30 minutes(stirring several times) and then added the chopped whole cabbage head (about 9 cups)and cooked til cabbage was tender about 30 minutes. Next day it was even better. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've made this many times over and used this exact recipe as is and it is freaking awesome! Full of flavor and one of my family's favorite Soup`s. LOVE IT!! And wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States