Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wow! This was absolutely delicious! As per helpful suggestions, I made just a couple of changes. I did not use water. I used 1 can cannellini beans NOT drained, 1 can of pinto beans mostly drained, and 1 can of kidney beans mostly drained. I also used 2 cans of tomato sauce and one can of diced tomatoes instead of 24 oz of tomato sauce. To make it a bit less fatty, I used extra lean (97/3) ground beef and did not use oil. Once again, this was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
LOVE this soup! I didn't use any oil. Since I didn't have enough tomato sauce, I used one can of tomato sauce and one can diced tomatoes then added a bit more water. All the other flavors are perfect and we really enjoyed it! The cabbage is a great addition to this chili-like soup. Thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was an excellent soup! My husband doesn't like cabbage and he came back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Really good and very easy...I might spice it up a bit more next time and I think adding diced tomatoes would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcwthompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Oh, yea, this soup is wonderful! So easy and very flavorful! Didn't change a thing! Definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Ohhh, is this good! I don't change recipes normally, but I had already cooked down a chuck roast (in water) and cut it in pieces. I was going to make a vegetable beef soup, but at the last minute I thought I'd check my saved recipes and found this. I had a cabbage that needed to be used up so I made this. Like others I did not use the cumin - we just had chili so I didn't want the soup to taste like that. I had only a small can of tomato sauce, but I had plenty of stewed tomatoes I put up this fall. So I used them instead but I'm positive the soup would taste just as good using the tomato sauce as written. I added the cabbage half way through. It is so good and so nutritious! With the tomatoes, the beans and of course, the cabbage it's very good for you! I recommend this to anyone and everyone. I am bringing some to my mom and to my sister to try; I know they'll love it - I'm so sure they'll like that I have printed off the recipe to give them when I give them the soup! Thank you for this delicious recipe! (it's a very easy soup to make and is very "forgiving" to changes you may need to make based on the contents of your pantry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Excellent!! I fixed this recipe for supper yesterday and it was a hit! My 8 year old son loved it and this morning he woke up and wanted the leftovers for breakfast! This is a keeper in my house!! I pretty much stuck to the original recipe though I did use 3 bouillon cubes instead of 4 and I also used 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of diced tomato. Thank you Nancy for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~PAMELA~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loved this soup! I thought the beans and cabbage together sounded a bit strange, but since I like both, I decided to try it. Based on what I had on hand, I used ground turkey, 1 can red beans, 1 can black beans (both rinsed and drained), 1 14 oz can tomato sauce and 1 can Rotel tomatoes and chiles, for a little kick. I also added a bit more cabbage. Over the last few days, I ate the entire pot of soup by myself. With my modifications, this is my new favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious. I used this with extra cabbage from the garden! It froze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
An excellent recipe! Quick, easy and tasty. I use this recipe as a base without much variance. I like to double most ingredients, except for the cumin. I also add either fresh or canned stewed tomatoes. We eat it with corn bread. A definite hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States