Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
A comforting and filling soup!! Yummy! I did want to note, however, that this recipe with fill a 6qt slow cooker to the brim! If you have a smaller slow cooker, you'll need to reduce the recipe proportionately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this for my parents...my mom is an excellent cook, but she is on bedrest...so I was trying to find something easy and hearty...they loved it!!!!(My dads a pretty picky eater so that is HIGH praise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I wasn't a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Made this again today (04/25/10) as we all just loved it. I now call it my Stuffed Cabbage soup as I have also thrown in some leftover rice--1/2 to 3/4 cup. And with the Paprika and other seasonings it really does taste a bit like stuffed cabbage. I always saute onions (usually add celery too) until a bit of browning occurs then add the beef. Once the beef is drier and brown I add the paprika and cumin and let them toast a bit before adding all the liquid. REALLY GOOD!!!! Just made this for dinner on a rather blustery spring day and it was very good. I made some changes like adding 3 carrots chopped, a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, 1 14.5 oz can tomato sauce, 1/2 to 1 tsp basil, 1/2 to 1 tsp oregano, 1 tblsp sweet paprika, a few bay leaves, 1 tsp garlic powder (didn't have fresh) and a good sprinkling of cayenne pepper as we like a bit of zip. Also used Jamison's Beef soup Base and about 18 oz of beef stock. I then rinsed the tomato and Bean cans and added that water to the pot,--super thick and smokey delicousness. Hubby had two big bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I thought this soup was excellent! I love soup, though, and I occasionally like cabbage if it is spiced well (and I got it on sale---its a very cheap and filling food!). My family was not so pleased---it smelled up the house, LOL. So I am the sole reviewer here as no one else would even try it. I am giving it 4 stars not because of the smell (cabbage is a stinky vegetable, no one's fault there) but because of the sodium. I only put two beef cubes in and only 1 tsp of salt. I did add a couple of dashes of hot sauce for flavor. I also a used a jar of pizza sauce instead of tomato sauce because that is what I had on hand and I added more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good recipe, but did make some changes to make the stew more flavourful. I definately recommend to add at least one or two cloves of garlic (minced) and a bay leaf. I used low-fat ground turkey instead of beef to make the meal healthier. It tasted even better on the second day! Served it with flaky home-made biscuits and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kata

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very good. Although I might try a different spice next time. the cumin is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very tasty! I made this soup for my sick fiance and as it was cooking, he exclaimed, "Yuck! It smells like cabbage in here, I hate cabbage!" A few hours later - he was demolishing the soup. I believe he ate all of it except one bowl; my bowl! I used crushed tomatoes rather than tomato sauce which made a very thick base for the soup. the reason I have to knock it down a peg is because it was very hard to fit all the ingredients in the slow cooker. I have an average to large size cooker and I could barely get the lid on with all the cabbage. It managed to cook down a bit but it was touch and go for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
my whole family loved this. The only change was I added more water for more broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great, as is! Next time I do think I'll add more cabbage, though, and a can of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States