Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I did not like the cumin in this recipe. It tasted like a cross between stuffed cabbage and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
We are really enjoying this soup. I made this as directed, except I did cut the cumin back to 1 tsp and didn't bother using the vegetable oil (my beef rendered enough fat). I cooked this in the crockpot on low for 6 hours. The only change I might make next time is to use one 15 oz. can of tomato sauce and one 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes, rather than just tomato sauce. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made this to use some cabbage from Hubs' garden. I used beef broth rather than the water and bouillon cubes, and I didn't drain the kidney beans. Perhaps I should have drained the beans, because my soup had a sweetness to it that I wasn't expecting. Although it also could have been that my tomato sauce was sweeter than others. All and all a good soup. Froze the leftover portions for later. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great taste. It tasted just like how my grandma use to make it. I didn't have any tomato sauce so I just used half a can of tomato soup and a small can of tomato paste and added a little extra water. The cabbage was a little slimy but I'm not sure what I did wrong... If it was under cooked or over cooked...? All around really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
i had to give this 4 instead of 5 only cause i made so many changes. first of all, i found this last minute so didn't use the slow cooker, just threw it all in a pot (after browing the beed of course) and brought to a boil, then simmered for an hour. i used 16 oz tomato sauce and 8 oz diced tomatoes, skipped the water/beef bouillon and used 2 1/2 cups beef broth, added 2 chopped carrots and only 1 teaspoon cumin. it was DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Tasty and good for you!!! Easy and inexpensive. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I loved this, I didn't have any ground beef so I used ground turkey and I didn't have beef bouilon I used chicken bouilon. really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious chili. It really is just chili with healthy cabbage hidden inside - can't taste the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
A comforting and filling soup!! Yummy! I did want to note, however, that this recipe with fill a 6qt slow cooker to the brim! If you have a smaller slow cooker, you'll need to reduce the recipe proportionately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this for my parents...my mom is an excellent cook, but she is on bedrest...so I was trying to find something easy and hearty...they loved it!!!!(My dads a pretty picky eater so that is HIGH praise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States