Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made this to use some cabbage from Hubs' garden. I used beef broth rather than the water and bouillon cubes, and I didn't drain the kidney beans. Perhaps I should have drained the beans, because my soup had a sweetness to it that I wasn't expecting. Although it also could have been that my tomato sauce was sweeter than others. All and all a good soup. Froze the leftover portions for later. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great taste. It tasted just like how my grandma use to make it. I didn't have any tomato sauce so I just used half a can of tomato soup and a small can of tomato paste and added a little extra water. The cabbage was a little slimy but I'm not sure what I did wrong... If it was under cooked or over cooked...? All around really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
i had to give this 4 instead of 5 only cause i made so many changes. first of all, i found this last minute so didn't use the slow cooker, just threw it all in a pot (after browing the beed of course) and brought to a boil, then simmered for an hour. i used 16 oz tomato sauce and 8 oz diced tomatoes, skipped the water/beef bouillon and used 2 1/2 cups beef broth, added 2 chopped carrots and only 1 teaspoon cumin. it was DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Tasty and good for you!!! Easy and inexpensive. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I loved this, I didn't have any ground beef so I used ground turkey and I didn't have beef bouilon I used chicken bouilon. really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious chili. It really is just chili with healthy cabbage hidden inside - can't taste the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
A comforting and filling soup!! Yummy! I did want to note, however, that this recipe with fill a 6qt slow cooker to the brim! If you have a smaller slow cooker, you'll need to reduce the recipe proportionately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this for my parents...my mom is an excellent cook, but she is on bedrest...so I was trying to find something easy and hearty...they loved it!!!!(My dads a pretty picky eater so that is HIGH praise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I wasn't a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Made this again today (04/25/10) as we all just loved it. I now call it my Stuffed Cabbage soup as I have also thrown in some leftover rice--1/2 to 3/4 cup. And with the Paprika and other seasonings it really does taste a bit like stuffed cabbage. I always saute onions (usually add celery too) until a bit of browning occurs then add the beef. Once the beef is drier and brown I add the paprika and cumin and let them toast a bit before adding all the liquid. REALLY GOOD!!!! Just made this for dinner on a rather blustery spring day and it was very good. I made some changes like adding 3 carrots chopped, a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, 1 14.5 oz can tomato sauce, 1/2 to 1 tsp basil, 1/2 to 1 tsp oregano, 1 tblsp sweet paprika, a few bay leaves, 1 tsp garlic powder (didn't have fresh) and a good sprinkling of cayenne pepper as we like a bit of zip. Also used Jamison's Beef soup Base and about 18 oz of beef stock. I then rinsed the tomato and Bean cans and added that water to the pot,--super thick and smokey delicousness. Hubby had two big bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States