Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I left out the salt and cumin. Because it had bouillon cubes and canned sauce and beans,it already had plenty of salt. The cumin made it taste like chili which was not what I wanted. Overall it had a nice color and taste.( Use dark red kidney beans for color ). I also served with chopped cilantro . Those who like cilantro thought it a fantastic addition. This is a low cost and satisfying meal. If I make it the day before..any fat rises and solidifies on top and can easily be removed for a low fat meal. Great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I am one of the least picky eaters out there, and I was so excited to make this because of the ingredients, but it was just awful. I couldn't even eat it, it was so acidic. Maybe I made it wrong, but I double-checked everything as I was going along. Definitely will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I gave this recipe 3 stars because it was way to salty for me and my husband. There is already salt in the canned kidney beans, tomato sauce, and in the bouillon cubes. I would suggest that the salt be left out, and then if you desire more than you can add it when you eat it. The cumin was a bit over powering, and I would suggest that it be dropped maybe to 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Added a little curry powder rather than cumin. Loved it! Will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommacat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I fell in love with cabbage beef soup at Shoney's, so was glad to find this recipe. This was so comforting and hearty. Tasted delicious and was easy and quick to make. I was too impatient to use my slow cooker, so I brought it to a boil on the stove and simmered it for about an hour. Came out perfect. I used chicken broth instead of water, used 1 16oz can of diced tom and 2 8oz cans of tomato sauce. I seasoned my ground beef prior to browning and added a little celery seed and cayenne pepper to the soup. Everything else I followed as written. The cumin did make it taste more chili-like than I remember, but it was good nonetheless. Next time I may halve the cumin or try a difffernt spice, maybe coriander, and see what difference that makes. I served it over plain white rice and it was so filling and tasty! Can't wait to get home to eat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was way too much cumin. Taste like chili, not what we wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I've been making a soup similar to this for years. The only differences that I have are: I use turkey smoked sausage instead of hamburger, tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, 3 T. vinegar, and no cumin. It is so good on a cold day. I serve it with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was soooo good!! I did use half of the cumin since im not a big fan of the taste but otherwise i made it just like the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I did not like the cumin in this recipe. It tasted like a cross between stuffed cabbage and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
We are really enjoying this soup. I made this as directed, except I did cut the cumin back to 1 tsp and didn't bother using the vegetable oil (my beef rendered enough fat). I cooked this in the crockpot on low for 6 hours. The only change I might make next time is to use one 15 oz. can of tomato sauce and one 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes, rather than just tomato sauce. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States