Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This soup was very good. I made some substitutions based on what I had on hand so I used black beans instead of kidney beans, salsa instead of tomato sauce and beef broth instead of booullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nspireme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Started this from memory, so had a few changes. (I had looked at a similar recipe prior to making this.) Don't think my changes were enough to change the basic recipe. I had already chopped green peppers, onions and celery and had them sauteing in butter before I could get my daughter off the computer long enough to let me check the recipe! I used a quart jar of my canned crushed tomatoes and 1 can kidney beans. (What I had on hand.) Used bullion granules and left out the salt. Other recipe called for 2 cups cabbage. REALLY glad I used the 5 that this recipe called for! May try 2 cans beans next time, but hubby and I think the cabbage is the star in this recipe. (He didn't even know he likes cabbage! He does now! LOL) Left cabbage a little crunchy, and it was great! I also did this on the stovetop rather than the slow cooker. My 12 yr old picky eater wouldn't even TRY it! (Typical!) My 9 yr old had 2 bowls and came back for a 3rd and 4th later! Hubby and I had 2 BIG bowls each! Absolutely delishes!!!!! Thank you for a great recipe!!!!! Edit: I made this again without the green pepper and celery. Must say that we liked it much better with the original changes I made. Still an excellent recipe as is. Just adjust to suit your families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good receipe. I added some chopped green peppers and used a jar of roasted garlic tomato sauce and chili beans instead of kidney beans. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was really good. Even my fussy 8 year old liked it. Basically he will only eat broccoli cheese soup or chili, no other soups. Personally my family would like it with more of the tasty broth. I also thought I would like some peeled chopped potato in it. It does hint at tasting like a chili and I might consider cutting back on the cumin sometimes also. Very yummy comfort food. Ohh I also did not have a 24oz tomato sauce so I used a 28 oz can Pastene ground tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
As others have written, it is like chili with cabbage but it is pretty tasty, and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really really good!! Didnt change a thing and thought it was great! Perfect for a cold winter's night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This soup was awesome - my husband couldn't believe how good it was and healthy too! My mom stopped by and had a bowl and now she wants the recipe too. I like that it is made with tomato-based broth instead of chicken broth. My changes: Instead of kidney beans I used black beans (I had them on hand), I subbed spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce (once again what I had on hand), and added some chopped sweet red peppers. It turned out thick, filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikesGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rittman, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Delicious! My husband claims to despise cabbage, but never even knew it was in there and loved it! I only used 1 can of beans, deleted the cumin, added more stock and a bunch of garlic. I also simmered it on stove for a few hours. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellykulpa
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
great recipe, my favourite from now. I gave only 3 bouillon cubes, little more cabbage and chopped tomatoes. Tastes great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this! I replaced the beef with MS veggie crumbles, and replaced the beef bouillon with chicken bouillon (what I had available), but I don't think those changes were very drastic from the original recipe. Hearty, yet not heavy, filling, and you can feel good about it. I'm sure I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States