Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A bit on the salty side. Omit the salt if sodium is a concern. Add the cabbage near the end if you like your veggies crisp like I do. I am not a big fan of cumin so I only used 1/8 tsp. Yes, it is very chilli-like and not really a soup. Try over rice and melting some cheese on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demetria
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this last night in the crock pot and it was delicious! I added polish sausage, and used lean turkey vs. ground beef, 2 cans of light kidney beans, 2 cans of chopped tomoatoes, some fresh garlic clove, garlic powder, season salt, and I used an entire head of chopped cabbage and put the cabbage in last so that it would not get over cooked. I also did not add the water, because cabbage produces water when it cooks. I am giving this 5 stars because it was very flavorful and healthy using the ground turkey and light ingredients. I will post pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demetria

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I really like this. Made mine with spagetti sauce (because that is what I had), left out the water, beef bouillion cubes, and cumin), made if more of a chili. Want to try it next with the cumin and tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This soup was great, however, I opted for v8 as a base instead of tomatoe sauce, seemed to have more flavor. and lots of garlic salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Wasn't for me. Family thought it was okay, but I didn't like it. I didn't change the recipe at all. Reviewers are right, it does taste like cabbage chili. At first bite, I didn't mind but then the more I tried it, the more it wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
As written, this recipe was just okay. This is basically a thin, bland chili with cabbage. People who rated it higher than 3 stars must have made some modifications to zest it up a bit. I personally found that some hot sauce perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very good! Used a bag of pre-shredd cabbage and carrots, and followed some of the reviews and used one can kidney beans and one can chili beans. Also used a large 24 oz can of Rotel in place of the tomato sauce, and just 1 cup of water. Yes, it is very much like chili with cabbage, but I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Home run. I did make a few changes as I'm on a diet and am diabetic so wanted to make it a little friendlier for me to eat. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I also added a large can of diced tomatoes with juice in addition to the tomato sauce. And finally, I threw in an extra can of kidney beans to up the protein content and added about two tablespoons of minced garlic. We love garlic. Thanks for the post. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was so good. I added black beans and pinto beans in mine. It taste like chili when make it but with cabbage in it. Really good very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msjenipher1
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very good recipe. Only changes were that I swapped the kidney beans for chili beans w/sauce and added garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 71-80 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States