Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I am not a fan of cabbage. I don't particularly care for it. Not only did I enjoy it, but so did everyone else. This is a tasty hearty soup. I did as others substitute the tomato sauce, using crushed tomatoes instead. The only thing I added was chopped garlic clove. This is definitely a keeper! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was sooo delicious! But I did change it up a little bit. I used ground turkey instead of the beef. I added 4 carrots, 2 celery, and 1 cup chopped eggplant. I can of rotel tomatoes. I omitted the kidney beans. The base of the recipe I kept the same. My husband does not like cabbage and he wanted nothing to do with this soup... that is until he had a bite of mine. He said it was really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
We had several heads of cabbage to use up from this summer and this was one of my favorite recipes. It was delicious and healthy. It saves well and you can easily adjust the ingredients to fit what you have in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I changed this quite a bit - used sausage instead of beef, and black beans instead of kidney - but holy cow, it's wonderful!! I don't think I'd have liked it as much with just ground beef, but the basic recipe is simply fantastic. (I also just cooked it in a soup pot, since the day slipped away from me and I didn't have 4 hours to wait for the crock pot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This should be renamed to Cabbage Beef 'Stew'. This hardy meal is perfect on cold days and will fill you up. Made it for the first time last night. I was worried it would be too salty with the 4 bouillon cubes and the added salt. It came out great and has a lot of fans. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was good, and did make enough for left overs. The only thing is it's a bit salty. I had to add a Tbs of sugar and only put three boulion cubes. Almost taste like chili, just with cabbage in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Really enjoyed this! I made a few changes but nothing to really alter the result. I used ground venison instead of beef. Added green pepper and celery when browned the venison and onion. Used 1 can of kidney and 1 can of chili beans. Used 1 can of crushed tomatoes, 1 can of Mexican stewed tomatoes and 1 can of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce. Chili powder instead of cumin. Omitted bouillon cubes and salt, trying to lower the sodium content (also tomato paste has less sodium that sauce). Husband and I love cooked cabbage, but never used it in soup before. Will do so from now on! Great recipe that stays great with many variations! Adding potatoes was mentioned by a reviewed, will probably try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Yummy! Used pinto beans in place of kidney beans. Switched V-8 juice for tomato because I love the extra flavor. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
amazing, healthy comfort food. I left out the vegetable oil and added chili powder for the cumin. Also cooked on stovetop so added 2 extra cups water. Even the kids loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I used chili beans becuase I do not like kidney beans. I added a can of rotel. It was like chili, but that made me love it even more. I served it with cheese and everyone loved it. I cooked it on the stove top for about an hour and half on low cause I didn't have time to do it in the crockpot last night. Will def make again. Will try adding a little garlic and red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States