Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This should be renamed to Cabbage Beef 'Stew'. This hardy meal is perfect on cold days and will fill you up. Made it for the first time last night. I was worried it would be too salty with the 4 bouillon cubes and the added salt. It came out great and has a lot of fans. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was good, and did make enough for left overs. The only thing is it's a bit salty. I had to add a Tbs of sugar and only put three boulion cubes. Almost taste like chili, just with cabbage in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Really enjoyed this! I made a few changes but nothing to really alter the result. I used ground venison instead of beef. Added green pepper and celery when browned the venison and onion. Used 1 can of kidney and 1 can of chili beans. Used 1 can of crushed tomatoes, 1 can of Mexican stewed tomatoes and 1 can of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce. Chili powder instead of cumin. Omitted bouillon cubes and salt, trying to lower the sodium content (also tomato paste has less sodium that sauce). Husband and I love cooked cabbage, but never used it in soup before. Will do so from now on! Great recipe that stays great with many variations! Adding potatoes was mentioned by a reviewed, will probably try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Yummy! Used pinto beans in place of kidney beans. Switched V-8 juice for tomato because I love the extra flavor. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
amazing, healthy comfort food. I left out the vegetable oil and added chili powder for the cumin. Also cooked on stovetop so added 2 extra cups water. Even the kids loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I used chili beans becuase I do not like kidney beans. I added a can of rotel. It was like chili, but that made me love it even more. I served it with cheese and everyone loved it. I cooked it on the stove top for about an hour and half on low cause I didn't have time to do it in the crockpot last night. Will def make again. Will try adding a little garlic and red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very good! Used ground turkey instead of beef, used only 2 bouillon cubes (instead of 4) and used 1 jar of organic Marinara sauce. Also added a bit more water because I added more cabbage. Also threw in a green pepper - chopped. Smells great while cooking and tastes even better! Even the kids liked this one. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
One of my new favourite recipes, so easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
We all liked it! Healthy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
YUMMY! I changed tomato sauce to 30 oz, 4 cups of water, 6 cups cabbage, no bouillon cubes, no veggie oil, 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 1/2 tsp pepper, drained beef really good, added a can of fire roasted tomatoes chopped, 1 tsp oregano and I clove of garlic chopped. Cooked on stove top on medium high heat for 1 hour so cabbage would be tender. Super flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States