Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband loved this. I added 2 cups more water as we like our soup a little more juicy. I also added a dash of Worchestershire and a tablespoon of crushed red pepper for a bit of zing and spice. I just made our second pot of this last night. A big 2 thumbs up for this cabbage soup recipe. The best part about it, it's even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
For even fewer calories, try making with ground turkey instead of beef. Still absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
No one in my family really liked this. I really don't know why it just didn't do anything for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Fantastic soup, one of my favorites on this site! Very adaptable to tweeks. I do not use the oil when cooking the beef and onion and I do add 2 cloves of garlic to the mix. I use beef broth instead of water and thus do not use the bouillon, a 28 oz can of whole peeled tomatoes crushed well instead of tomato sauce and include a stalk of celery diced. I like it cooked in the slow cooker and do so for about 3 hours on high. When the cabbage is tender I adjust seasoning to taste and add a little bouillon then instead of salt for a deeper beef flavor. I like the flavor the cumin adds but I don't think it tastes like chili because to me chili needs chili powder. Another plus about this soup is that it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was super easy, healthy and tasted really good! I used a whole medium onion instead of 1/2. In stead of measuring out the cabbage I just chopped up a whole medium size cabbage. Cabbage doesn't have to be finely chopped. I added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice and as far as the cumin, I just sprinkled on a bit and that was enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used this recipe as a guideline really, but what came out of it was delicious! Here are my changes: I added a large carrot, 3 stalks of celery, I used 1 large tomato and a 1/3 cup tomato sauce, and I added a bunch of paprika and oregano and left out the salt. I had to change a lot of the ratios due to having a small crockpot, so it turned out a tad salty, I should have used left one or two of the bouillon cubes out. The cabbage wouldn't fit in the crockpot, so I left it to cook all day, and then transferred it to a pot, added the cabbage and simmered for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
this was very good. didnt have the cubes so i subbed a can of beef gravy. I also put my onions in the cooker raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
used a whole head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaWI
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredDad9877

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup...was a little chili like, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States