Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband loved this. I added 2 cups more water as we like our soup a little more juicy. I also added a dash of Worchestershire and a tablespoon of crushed red pepper for a bit of zing and spice. I just made our second pot of this last night. A big 2 thumbs up for this cabbage soup recipe. The best part about it, it's even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
For even fewer calories, try making with ground turkey instead of beef. Still absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
No one in my family really liked this. I really don't know why it just didn't do anything for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Fantastic soup, one of my favorites on this site! Very adaptable to tweeks. I do not use the oil when cooking the beef and onion and I do add 2 cloves of garlic to the mix. I use beef broth instead of water and thus do not use the bouillon, a 28 oz can of whole peeled tomatoes crushed well instead of tomato sauce and include a stalk of celery diced. I like it cooked in the slow cooker and do so for about 3 hours on high. When the cabbage is tender I adjust seasoning to taste and add a little bouillon then instead of salt for a deeper beef flavor. I like the flavor the cumin adds but I don't think it tastes like chili because to me chili needs chili powder. Another plus about this soup is that it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was super easy, healthy and tasted really good! I used a whole medium onion instead of 1/2. In stead of measuring out the cabbage I just chopped up a whole medium size cabbage. Cabbage doesn't have to be finely chopped. I added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice and as far as the cumin, I just sprinkled on a bit and that was enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used this recipe as a guideline really, but what came out of it was delicious! Here are my changes: I added a large carrot, 3 stalks of celery, I used 1 large tomato and a 1/3 cup tomato sauce, and I added a bunch of paprika and oregano and left out the salt. I had to change a lot of the ratios due to having a small crockpot, so it turned out a tad salty, I should have used left one or two of the bouillon cubes out. The cabbage wouldn't fit in the crockpot, so I left it to cook all day, and then transferred it to a pot, added the cabbage and simmered for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
this was very good. didnt have the cubes so i subbed a can of beef gravy. I also put my onions in the cooker raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
used a whole head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaWI
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredDad9877

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup...was a little chili like, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States