Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I wasn't a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Made this again today (04/25/10) as we all just loved it. I now call it my Stuffed Cabbage soup as I have also thrown in some leftover rice--1/2 to 3/4 cup. And with the Paprika and other seasonings it really does taste a bit like stuffed cabbage. I always saute onions (usually add celery too) until a bit of browning occurs then add the beef. Once the beef is drier and brown I add the paprika and cumin and let them toast a bit before adding all the liquid. REALLY GOOD!!!! Just made this for dinner on a rather blustery spring day and it was very good. I made some changes like adding 3 carrots chopped, a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, 1 14.5 oz can tomato sauce, 1/2 to 1 tsp basil, 1/2 to 1 tsp oregano, 1 tblsp sweet paprika, a few bay leaves, 1 tsp garlic powder (didn't have fresh) and a good sprinkling of cayenne pepper as we like a bit of zip. Also used Jamison's Beef soup Base and about 18 oz of beef stock. I then rinsed the tomato and Bean cans and added that water to the pot,--super thick and smokey delicousness. Hubby had two big bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I thought this soup was excellent! I love soup, though, and I occasionally like cabbage if it is spiced well (and I got it on sale---its a very cheap and filling food!). My family was not so pleased---it smelled up the house, LOL. So I am the sole reviewer here as no one else would even try it. I am giving it 4 stars not because of the smell (cabbage is a stinky vegetable, no one's fault there) but because of the sodium. I only put two beef cubes in and only 1 tsp of salt. I did add a couple of dashes of hot sauce for flavor. I also a used a jar of pizza sauce instead of tomato sauce because that is what I had on hand and I added more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good recipe, but did make some changes to make the stew more flavourful. I definately recommend to add at least one or two cloves of garlic (minced) and a bay leaf. I used low-fat ground turkey instead of beef to make the meal healthier. It tasted even better on the second day! Served it with flaky home-made biscuits and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kata

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very good. Although I might try a different spice next time. the cumin is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Very tasty! I made this soup for my sick fiance and as it was cooking, he exclaimed, "Yuck! It smells like cabbage in here, I hate cabbage!" A few hours later - he was demolishing the soup. I believe he ate all of it except one bowl; my bowl! I used crushed tomatoes rather than tomato sauce which made a very thick base for the soup. the reason I have to knock it down a peg is because it was very hard to fit all the ingredients in the slow cooker. I have an average to large size cooker and I could barely get the lid on with all the cabbage. It managed to cook down a bit but it was touch and go for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
my whole family loved this. The only change was I added more water for more broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great, as is! Next time I do think I'll add more cabbage, though, and a can of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Wonderful! Soooo yummy and filling on this cold and snowy winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good, just two problems: 1- tastes kinda like Chili; Will read suggestions FIRST next time and omit the Cumin 2- a little less "soupy" than I'm used to for a soup, maybe I wont drain the beans next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States