Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Tasty and good for you!!! Easy and inexpensive. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I loved this, I didn't have any ground beef so I used ground turkey and I didn't have beef bouilon I used chicken bouilon. really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious chili. It really is just chili with healthy cabbage hidden inside - can't taste the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
A comforting and filling soup!! Yummy! I did want to note, however, that this recipe with fill a 6qt slow cooker to the brim! If you have a smaller slow cooker, you'll need to reduce the recipe proportionately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this for my parents...my mom is an excellent cook, but she is on bedrest...so I was trying to find something easy and hearty...they loved it!!!!(My dads a pretty picky eater so that is HIGH praise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I wasn't a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Made this again today (04/25/10) as we all just loved it. I now call it my Stuffed Cabbage soup as I have also thrown in some leftover rice--1/2 to 3/4 cup. And with the Paprika and other seasonings it really does taste a bit like stuffed cabbage. I always saute onions (usually add celery too) until a bit of browning occurs then add the beef. Once the beef is drier and brown I add the paprika and cumin and let them toast a bit before adding all the liquid. REALLY GOOD!!!! Just made this for dinner on a rather blustery spring day and it was very good. I made some changes like adding 3 carrots chopped, a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, 1 14.5 oz can tomato sauce, 1/2 to 1 tsp basil, 1/2 to 1 tsp oregano, 1 tblsp sweet paprika, a few bay leaves, 1 tsp garlic powder (didn't have fresh) and a good sprinkling of cayenne pepper as we like a bit of zip. Also used Jamison's Beef soup Base and about 18 oz of beef stock. I then rinsed the tomato and Bean cans and added that water to the pot,--super thick and smokey delicousness. Hubby had two big bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I thought this soup was excellent! I love soup, though, and I occasionally like cabbage if it is spiced well (and I got it on sale---its a very cheap and filling food!). My family was not so pleased---it smelled up the house, LOL. So I am the sole reviewer here as no one else would even try it. I am giving it 4 stars not because of the smell (cabbage is a stinky vegetable, no one's fault there) but because of the sodium. I only put two beef cubes in and only 1 tsp of salt. I did add a couple of dashes of hot sauce for flavor. I also a used a jar of pizza sauce instead of tomato sauce because that is what I had on hand and I added more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good recipe, but did make some changes to make the stew more flavourful. I definately recommend to add at least one or two cloves of garlic (minced) and a bay leaf. I used low-fat ground turkey instead of beef to make the meal healthier. It tasted even better on the second day! Served it with flaky home-made biscuits and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kata

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very good. Although I might try a different spice next time. the cumin is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States