Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Added a little curry powder rather than cumin. Loved it! Will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommacat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I fell in love with cabbage beef soup at Shoney's, so was glad to find this recipe. This was so comforting and hearty. Tasted delicious and was easy and quick to make. I was too impatient to use my slow cooker, so I brought it to a boil on the stove and simmered it for about an hour. Came out perfect. I used chicken broth instead of water, used 1 16oz can of diced tom and 2 8oz cans of tomato sauce. I seasoned my ground beef prior to browning and added a little celery seed and cayenne pepper to the soup. Everything else I followed as written. The cumin did make it taste more chili-like than I remember, but it was good nonetheless. Next time I may halve the cumin or try a difffernt spice, maybe coriander, and see what difference that makes. I served it over plain white rice and it was so filling and tasty! Can't wait to get home to eat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was way too much cumin. Taste like chili, not what we wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I've been making a soup similar to this for years. The only differences that I have are: I use turkey smoked sausage instead of hamburger, tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, 3 T. vinegar, and no cumin. It is so good on a cold day. I serve it with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was soooo good!! I did use half of the cumin since im not a big fan of the taste but otherwise i made it just like the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I did not like the cumin in this recipe. It tasted like a cross between stuffed cabbage and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
We are really enjoying this soup. I made this as directed, except I did cut the cumin back to 1 tsp and didn't bother using the vegetable oil (my beef rendered enough fat). I cooked this in the crockpot on low for 6 hours. The only change I might make next time is to use one 15 oz. can of tomato sauce and one 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes, rather than just tomato sauce. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made this to use some cabbage from Hubs' garden. I used beef broth rather than the water and bouillon cubes, and I didn't drain the kidney beans. Perhaps I should have drained the beans, because my soup had a sweetness to it that I wasn't expecting. Although it also could have been that my tomato sauce was sweeter than others. All and all a good soup. Froze the leftover portions for later. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great taste. It tasted just like how my grandma use to make it. I didn't have any tomato sauce so I just used half a can of tomato soup and a small can of tomato paste and added a little extra water. The cabbage was a little slimy but I'm not sure what I did wrong... If it was under cooked or over cooked...? All around really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
i had to give this 4 instead of 5 only cause i made so many changes. first of all, i found this last minute so didn't use the slow cooker, just threw it all in a pot (after browing the beed of course) and brought to a boil, then simmered for an hour. i used 16 oz tomato sauce and 8 oz diced tomatoes, skipped the water/beef bouillon and used 2 1/2 cups beef broth, added 2 chopped carrots and only 1 teaspoon cumin. it was DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States