Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delish. I made this recipe for my family for the first time about a year ago, and I've been making it in big batches every month or so since; What doesn't get eaten is put into the freezer for use on lazy or cold days. Thank you very much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Okay...this was just delicious...make it with ground turkey and it was oh so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I've made this delicious soup since 2007. I really liked the cabbage beef soup that Shoney's offers on the buffet & so used this site's great tool to type in ingredients you're looking to combine and to my great delight this recipe comes up AND a review mentioning this soup tastes like the Shoney's soup! JACKPOT! I took the reviewers suggestion of adding celery to soften up the flavor and also thought, hummmm, some chopped green pepper would also be nice & the soup turned out Yummy! I love this site!!! P.S. I also found others suggestions great - to substitute beef broth or stock for the too salty bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I have made this one many times. Instead of tomato sauce I use a can of crushed tomatoes. I also add some chili powder. Consider it a healthy chili. Top with cheese and onions. Cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
We loved this! I have a picky hunny but he told me i'd better make this every week! lol :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I have made this Soup 3 times already and it just keeps getting better and better every time! Of course it always tastes better the next day after all of the flavors have molded together, but this is absolutely the BEST cabbage soup recipe that I have ever tried! This is definately a fave in my house and will be for a long time to come! EXCELLENT job on this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This soup was very good. I made some substitutions based on what I had on hand so I used black beans instead of kidney beans, salsa instead of tomato sauce and beef broth instead of booullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nspireme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Started this from memory, so had a few changes. (I had looked at a similar recipe prior to making this.) Don't think my changes were enough to change the basic recipe. I had already chopped green peppers, onions and celery and had them sauteing in butter before I could get my daughter off the computer long enough to let me check the recipe! I used a quart jar of my canned crushed tomatoes and 1 can kidney beans. (What I had on hand.) Used bullion granules and left out the salt. Other recipe called for 2 cups cabbage. REALLY glad I used the 5 that this recipe called for! May try 2 cans beans next time, but hubby and I think the cabbage is the star in this recipe. (He didn't even know he likes cabbage! He does now! LOL) Left cabbage a little crunchy, and it was great! I also did this on the stovetop rather than the slow cooker. My 12 yr old picky eater wouldn't even TRY it! (Typical!) My 9 yr old had 2 bowls and came back for a 3rd and 4th later! Hubby and I had 2 BIG bowls each! Absolutely delishes!!!!! Thank you for a great recipe!!!!! Edit: I made this again without the green pepper and celery. Must say that we liked it much better with the original changes I made. Still an excellent recipe as is. Just adjust to suit your families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good receipe. I added some chopped green peppers and used a jar of roasted garlic tomato sauce and chili beans instead of kidney beans. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was really good. Even my fussy 8 year old liked it. Basically he will only eat broccoli cheese soup or chili, no other soups. Personally my family would like it with more of the tasty broth. I also thought I would like some peeled chopped potato in it. It does hint at tasting like a chili and I might consider cutting back on the cumin sometimes also. Very yummy comfort food. Ohh I also did not have a 24oz tomato sauce so I used a 28 oz can Pastene ground tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States