Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this! I replaced the beef with MS veggie crumbles, and replaced the beef bouillon with chicken bouillon (what I had available), but I don't think those changes were very drastic from the original recipe. Hearty, yet not heavy, filling, and you can feel good about it. I'm sure I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
My husband and son love this. I substitute beef broth for the water and beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent.....We loved it very much. We will be making it again and again. I did put cabbage in halfway through...Thanks for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I wanted it to be done in less than 4 hours, so I cooked this on the stove instead of a crock pot. I used dried beans (soaked overnight, and then cooked for only about 30 minutes and then measured into 32oz and added to the soup). I feel there was too many beans and not enough beef or cabbage. Next time I would cut the amount of beans in half and double the cabbage. Also, the cabbage should be added with only an hour or two of cooking time left so that it keeps a nice texture/flavor. I only used about a tsp of the cumin and added some thyme, marjoram, sage, and parsley. I served this with the herb bread from this site and it was tasty! It made a lot of soup, too! perfect for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Pulled this together with what I had on hand. Used one 15 oz. can tomato sauce and chopped 3 plum tomatoes, 1 can pinto and 1 can black (our favorites), substituted beef broth for the water and bouillon. Used a whole onion. Followed previous suggestions and cut the cumin down to 1t, used 1t of garlic powder, and chopped a whole head of cabbage. Looking at some similar recipes I added 3T apple cider vinegar and 2T sugar at the end to improve the flavor. Last thing, I would definitely put the cabbage in at the very beginning. It cooks perfectly and melts in your mouth! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this on the stovetop, and added about 1/2 bag of Birdseye Steamfresh frozen long-grain rice...this addition really made it taste like stuffed cabbage soup. I loved it!!! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious! I seasoned ground beef & sauteed with onions. Substituted 2 cans of petite diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce, & 3 cups of Emeril's Organic Beef Broth for bouillon cubes/water + 1 cup of chick broth. We like a brothy soup! I did leave out the cumin based on previous reviews & used all of a small head of cabbage. I did this on the stove top in a ceramic cast iron pot after bringing all ingredients to a small boil, then simmered covered for 2 hours on low. My hubby raved about it & I enjoyed it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good! The pickiest men in the family LOVED it especially (which says alot)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I left out the salt and cumin. Because it had bouillon cubes and canned sauce and beans,it already had plenty of salt. The cumin made it taste like chili which was not what I wanted. Overall it had a nice color and taste.( Use dark red kidney beans for color ). I also served with chopped cilantro . Those who like cilantro thought it a fantastic addition. This is a low cost and satisfying meal. If I make it the day before..any fat rises and solidifies on top and can easily be removed for a low fat meal. Great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I am one of the least picky eaters out there, and I was so excited to make this because of the ingredients, but it was just awful. I couldn't even eat it, it was so acidic. Maybe I made it wrong, but I double-checked everything as I was going along. Definitely will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States