Cabbage Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It gets 4 from me, simply because it needs paprika and to be served over rice. Like a lazy way to make stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I agree with all the positive reviews. Just delicious! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Easy and tasty. Good weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Had a head of cabbage I needed to use and came across this recipe and it sounded easy, which is how I cook, and I hoped would be good. Thought it was a great recipe that I made a few adjustments to. I omitted the oil, I only used a 1/2 lb of 90/10 ground beef, I used about a cup of chopped onion, 1 tsp chopped garlic, increased cabbage that I shredded fairly thin (just threw in handfuls) 1 can kidney beans, 1 can chickpeas, 1 can pinto beans, 2 - 10oz cans of tomato sauce, threw in about a cup of salsa I had leftover, used 4 tsp of beef Better Than Bullion instead of cubes, and then used about 2 tsps. of dry chili seasoning mix. Added a little garlic powder and a little onion powder as well. It is absolutely delicious! I cooked it on the stove, no slow cooker here. Thanks for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I'm another fan of Shoney's cabbage beef soup and since they went out of business in my area I've been in serious withdrawal...I'm also trying to eat more healthy and this soup is ideal. I did make a few changes based on available ingredients and my personal preference of wanting a more spicy soup. Changes I made: I skipped the vegetable oil because I cooked the hamburger straight from a frozen block. I used ground chuck vs ground beef. I used one frozen bag of "stir fry mix" from dollar tree which has red and green bell peppers as well as onion in it along with about 1/4 cup dry chopped onion. I added a can of tomatoes with green chilies (rotel). I used a 27 ounce can of creole creme style red beans. I used 2 cups of beef broth and skipped the bouillon cubes. I used a 24 ounce jar of Basil pasta sauce and finally I used "french fry seasoning" for the salt and "garlic & pepper" for the pepper. I probably used 6 cups of cabbage as well...my only regret is not adding more cabbage after the first cabbage shrunk to make an even larger batch as I'd have more to freeze etc. I used a 7 quart slow cooker. I think next time I'd try some minced garlic instead of the garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I enjoyed this and it had a good flavor. Next time I will only use 1 can of beans though. I couldn't get a bite with fewer than 4 beans in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
My husband andi really enjoyed this soup/stew. I made half the recipe. I followed the suggestions and I did not add cumin, added diced tomatoes, and 1 can of beef broth with 2 beef buillion cubes. I sautéed onion, celery, and carrots, and 2 cloves of garlic in olive oil seasoned with adobo seasoning and pepper. I added 3 allspice berries,a bay leaf and a little brown sugar and let it simmer for about an hour. I alao threw in some frozen mixed vegetable. Very thick and hearty. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My husband doesn't like things too tomato sauce*y so I only used a small low sodium can of tomato sauce. We have to eat low salt so I used low sodium vegetable broth for part of the water/cubes. I did have to add more water later. I love recipes that allow you to clean out the fridge/pantry so I used up a bell pepper, some carrots and lots of fresh garlic along with a whole onion. Used a can of Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes and a can of Ranch Style Beans. I also used my own spice mix. I realize I changed the recipe up, but this recipe lends itself to using up what you have and customizing it toward what your family eats. It was really good and even better today for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Healthy and Delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My toddler & I loved this! It reminded me of a thin, milder chili. When i make it again, I won't add nearly as much salt as the recipe calls for. It's great leftover too! I added canned tomatoes also. Overall, it is good... I will keep this recipe and cut the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States