Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My hungarian grandma made this, as does my polish sister-n-law...Love it!! Great, simple, fast, inexpensive meal. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Interesting and kind of fun to make. I added bacon and that gave it some flavor. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Fabulous just as it is written!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Best.Stuff.EVER! I actually chopped up about 3/4 of a pounds of lean corned beef and added it to this recipe. OMG...SOOOO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zpaultx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I'm mixed on this one. I cooked five strips of bacon, then sauteed the cabbage and an onion in the grease for almost an hour, but never really reached the caramelized stage (must've had the heat too low). The only pasta I had on hand was just a little bit of home made sourdough pasta, and I didn't have real high expectations for those flavors to meld (it didn't turn out to be half bad, though). Pasta aside, I felt that I added a copious amount of salt to this, and I still wasn't really "feeling" it as I tasted from the skillet. But when I added the bacon back in (should've listened to the reviews and done a full pound. Five strips wasn't near enough!) it really did add something to it. It's definitely not a "wow" dish but there's something hearty, warm, and comforting about it on a cold rainy night. I'll probably revisit, but this time with all the bacon and maybe some potatoes as one person suggested. All three of my boys devoured this and declared cabbage their new favorite veg, so I can't complain. (Even if the veg was doused in bacon grease. I've got nothing against a healthy occasional dose of old fashioned bacon fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
only used half the onion and substituted half the butter for olive oil, was so good! Served with herbed Tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
First, I caramelized in butter the onions, garlic and then added cabbage. Heated on low for at least 30 minutes to not burn and added Oregano and Thyme. I also added 2 slices of bacon as others mentioned for more flavor. It also wouldn't hurt to add a little beer after onions are caramelized and let cabbage saute slightly until liquid reduces for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Easy and delicious! My mother-in-law is first generation Hungarian, so my husband is used to good cabbage and noodles, and he really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Really good recipe. I added some browned ground bison to it to give it some protein and extra flavor. It would have been really good with out it too though. Not an extremely flavorful dish, but it's hearty and has a good comfort food feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is delicious and so so easy to make. I followed the recipe except for adding a couple cloves of pressed garlic. I halved the recipe because its just my husband and I. There were still leftovers for lunch the next day, which I loved! Highly recommend if you want a simple but delicious cabbage recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States