Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Very good & easy! My hubby insists on a meat so we use turkey sausage. I also throw a teaspoon of minced garlic in with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very simple comfort food. It makes a nice homey dish for a cold winter evening. Sometimes I go crazy and add turkey bacon or, cook the cabbage down in a little chicken broth. I always add some garlic. This dish really isn't anything special (in fact, overall it's pretty bland)and yet, it always gets gobbled up. Served with crusty bread slathered in butter and cheap red wine served European style in a short chunky glass - it seems to appeal to a sense of primal peasantry and, a longing for simpler times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
We make this all of the time. I add green peppers. we eat it with hot dogs. sometimes we don't add the noodles. it is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I added some leftover seasoned diced pork loin to the stir fry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
My husband was skeptical but after the first bite it won him over! I used some leftover frozen honey baked ham and a couple of Tbs. Of bacon grease that I keep in a small jar in the fridge. I made my own egg noodles, and added a clove of garlic. Everything else I kept the same. I agree that carmelizing the onion and the cabbage added so much flavor. I doubled the recipe so my daughter would have a couple of servings to take to school for lunch... She liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
In my Hungarian grandmother's version, there might even be more butter! However, I use less than she did - and I use part bacon grease. Hard to go wrong, that way! I agree with others: it's better if the cabbage is cooked for longer; it's softer and sweeter and gains a better flavor. The real trick, I think, is adding more pepper than you might think to. As a general rule, I don't use black pepper - the smell turns me off - but with this, give some liberal shakes. Not enough to make it spicy, but enough to give it flavor. Use a little more salt that you'd think to, too - delicious and inexpensive! I added a few mushrooms because I had them, and a little bacon. Even the three-year-old asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is similar to my Hungarian grandmother's recipe, however, she cooked the cabbage slowly in bacon grease-lard for added flavor (so this no longer is a 25 minute recipe) and added celery seed. I love it as a side dish but add browned ground beef as a main dish. My son calls it the original "Hamburger Helper minus the box."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My hungarian grandma made this, as does my polish sister-n-law...Love it!! Great, simple, fast, inexpensive meal. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Interesting and kind of fun to make. I added bacon and that gave it some flavor. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Fabulous just as it is written!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States