Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I love this dish, my dad is Hungarian and it tastes just like how he always made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Andrejcak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is just like the recipe my Hungarian grandmother made. But here's a little secret: sprinkle your serving with a little sugar- about 1/2 tsp. Trust me on this. My grandmother always did it and I loved it but thought it was just something she did. Then one day when the adventurous chef in our hospital cafeteria served cabbage noodles, I noticed a woman at the next table sprinkling a packet of sugar over hers. I asked if she was Hungarian and she said yes and that this was the only way she liked her cabbage noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This was great, quick, easy and taste amazing. I added a little chicken soup base to give it a little more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was devoured and received rave reviews from my family. We love cabbage so I'm not sure why some people wanted to get rid of the cabbage flavor. I did make one change for my meat loving husband - I added four sweet italian sausages sliced up with the butter and onions and cooked until browned then added the cabbage and cooked low until we were all drooling over the pan. Great as is or with the noodles - a little sour cream is a good addition but it is also tasty without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have made this for a long time and believe the secret to flavor is to brown the cabbage a little and add more fresh ground pepper than you would think. Taste as you go to make sure it isn't too peppery for everyone you are feeding. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
When growing up my mom made something similar that I LOVED, she would fry a pound of ground breakfast sausage and into it would fry the cabbage and add the egg noodles and salt and pepper. Pretty much the same recipe but without the butter since she would use the sausage fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Syrotiak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My mom taught me to make this with sliced polish sausage. It is much more flavorful with the sausage. She just called it sausage and cabbage and noodles. I love it and so does my husband. My mom was German. So, as with many recipes that come from the slavic region of the world; each little pocket of people developed their own spin on it. I usechicken broth, sometimes some garlic powder, and always onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have made this for years added a ring of sliced kolbasa to the mixins. Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was great. I used about half the amount of butter and added a little olive oil to reduce the saturated fats and I cooked the cabbage longer than stated. Otherwise stuck to the recipe and it was perfect. Made a ham steak on the side for hubby and son and tofu for me. Will keep this one for sure. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States