Cabbage Balushka or Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is exactly how we make our cabbage and noodles, except I add some garlic powder for extra flavor. This recipe is super simple and satisfying...YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
There is nothing really wrong with this recipe - it just isn't much is the flavor department....even with the butter it was just middle of the road for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I'm about to make this tonight and am VERY excited. I LOVE egg noodles and browned butter and I love cabbage so I'm sure this is going to be most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My Grandma made this all the time when I was growing up. She started with a pound of bacon diced. Brown the bacon and remove it, SAVE the bacon grease. Next, saute the cabbage and onion in the bacon grease. Meanwhile, cook the noodles al dente, then drain and add in the bacon and cabbage/onion mixture! Not exactly the healthiest dish in the world, but she lived to be 93 years old. And, you know it's gotta be a good recipe when the directions start with "Brown a pound of bacon and SAVE the bacon grease"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
The secret to this recipe is to cook the cabbage for a very long time over very low heat until it is all light brown and carmelized. This gives it a delicious sweet flavor that is not cabbag-y at all. If the cabbage seems to be sticking, add more butter or a little oil. I add salt while it is cooking to help sweat out some of the water inside the cabbage leaves. I also do not use onion but it would definitely be a nice addition. My Hungarian grandma always made this and now I make it for my family. No matter how much I make, we eat it all in one sitting. It is also very inexpensive. Can be a side dish or main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I'm from western PA, and many, many moons ago, my step-grandmother (who is hungarian) and another friends mother taught me to make this, however they taught me to add potatos to this, it is wonderful! I still make it many moons later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Run, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ash Fork, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My son gave this 5 stars...and he almost never does that! I should start by saying that I don't know if I should even review this recipe because I did not stay true to it as written (we gave it 4 stars as written but did make some changes this 2nd time through). I started by browning a pound of diced bacon and when it was crisp, removed it and then sauteed the cabbage and onion together slowly in the bacon fat until nice and carmelized. The I added the bacon back in plus 3 cloves of minced garlic. Then added in cooked homemade noodles. It was sooo good. Thanks rlecook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
i was skeptical given the simplicity and the limited number of ingredients. BUT, it turned out to be delicious! and, i even used whole wheat noodles, since i didn't have egg noodles. yum indeed. plus, it's a fabulous way to use up all that cabbage in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I was looking for a 'comfort food" recipe to use up a head of cabbage that I got in my organic bag this week. This totally fit the bill. I did add some shreaded carrot (also in the bag) to add some color and extra vitamins. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OmaCindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I loved this, although dh and my 3yo were less impressed, but I'm the cook so I'll probably make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States