CCRyder's Smoker Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
We made these ribs a few nights ago, and were the best we ever had. We smoked them for six hours, and they were perfect!!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
AWESOME!!! Made a few adjustments based on preference and what I had in my spice cabinet... VERY forgiving :) Instead of ancho chile powder (only had regular), I put a large whole dried ancho chile, used fresh rosemary, cut nutmeg and allspice to 1 TS (instead of 1 TB) each and added 1 TS corriander... Not sure why thyme's listed twice...? I just put the 1st amt since too much thyme can be overpowering, maybe the 2nd was supposed to say oregano??? Anyhow, just skipped that part... everything else according to recipe. Blended it all in the food processor til it was even, makes A LOT! I only used 1/2 of it on a full rack of ribs; peeled membrane, soaked 30 mins in apple cider vinegar + worcestershire + splash of liquid smoke (DO THIS! makes ribs super tender and juicy!), then patted dry and rubbed GENEROUSLY. Wrapped in foil, only marinated 4 hours, will do overnight next time! Baked them at 200 for 2 hours (meaty side down!), removed from foil and finished off on the grill with a bourbon molasses glaze and it was SO GOOD!!! LOVE the herbiness of the rosemary & thyme with the sweet of the sugars and glaze... GREAT alternative to standard BBQ ribs. Thanks CC Ryder!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Excellent. Wonderful flavour, and now the only rub we use! I haven't used a smoker, but it works well cooked slowly in the oven covered with foil, and adding a touch of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Impressive mixture of flavours, this one hits all the right notes. I will caution any newbie 'rub'-ers out there: 1) Using table salt is a no-no - the coarse salt used in the recipe should be measured. Substituting the same amount of fine table salt will leave you with an unpleasantly salty rub. 2) If you are not smoking, then as a bare minimum, slow cook for at least 4 hours with this rub. I tried the first batch for 3 hours in a slow oven and the pepper was still overwhelming. Another hour and the heat seemed to 'melt' into the other flavours. 3) Another good reason to go slow (4+ hours) with this rub is it will force you go 'low' in terms of temperature. This rub has a lot of sugar and will burn at higher temperatures. As an inexperienced bbq'r from up north, i gotta say this recipe got me rave reviews. It was well worth fiddling with the timing to get a smokerless version that worked in my slow-cooker/oven. God Bless America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Used this on smoked brisquette and it came out succulent and incredibly tasty, the family loved it. Also used it on grilled chicken breasts and they were some of the tenderest, most flavorful grilled chicken I've ever had. We left off the various peppers for a sweeter taste, but are looking forward to a spicier version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Oh Yeah, this is THE rub! Make sure you mortar and pestle it before using to crush some of the spices and make them refreshed! AND ya gotta remove the membrane on the back of the babybacks or the flavor won't get to the back of the rib. I use a needle-nose pliers (clean well before and after!). I wash the ribs, and dry them well before applying rub, cover with saran wrap and let sit in the frig for 24-48 hours before smoking. Take a gander at my finished photo. Beautiful! I use a great dipping sauce made from Trader Joe's Sweet and Smoky Sauce, Frank's Red Hot Sauce and Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce; each guest gets a warmed bowl of sauce to dip as needed, but sauce is NOT necessary! We smoked the ribs for about 4.5 hours, we do not like it to fall off the bone, but be more firm. You can also use this rub for a full pork tenderloin and smoke it...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
wow. what a great 4th anniversary meal. i cooked them in the slow cooker for 4 hours and then transferred the ribs to the barbeque, using the juice to baste them with. served with coconut rice, grilled mushrooms and sauteed green beans:it made my husband very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a good rub and doesn't have to be exact when measured. But the nutmeg I will leave out next time, just had an aftertaste that didn't sit well with ribs....Omit the nutmeg and you will really enjoy this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have to admit: nutmeg and allspice in a rid rub made me skeptical of the whole thing. I keep trying different rubs on my back ribs and enjoy my ribs without sauce. Rub only with that perfect caramelized layer on top of the most tender meat. I have never written a review before and registered only to do so for this rub. My search is over. Best rub ever, I intend to find the specialized powders for the next batch. Could it possibly get better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is my "go to" rub! I even keep it made up in my refrigerator. Usually rub down my baby back ribs and let them sit in refer overnight. I bake (tightly covered with foil) on a rack at 300 degrees for 2-2-1/2 hours. After cooling I grill using your favorite BBQ sauce. Meat falls off the bones - these are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Herb Salt

A simple, savory finishing salt that’s also an inexpensive gift idea.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States