CCRyder's Smoker Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ellie may
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Oh Yeah, this is THE rub! Make sure you mortar and pestle it before using to crush some of the spices and make them refreshed! AND ya gotta remove the membrane on the back of the babybacks or the flavor won't get to the back of the rib. I use a needle-nose pliers (clean well before and after!). I wash the ribs, and dry them well before applying rub, cover with saran wrap and let sit in the frig for 24-48 hours before smoking. Take a gander at my finished photo. Beautiful! I use a great dipping sauce made from Trader Joe's Sweet and Smoky Sauce, Frank's Red Hot Sauce and Cholula Chipotle Hot Sauce; each guest gets a warmed bowl of sauce to dip as needed, but sauce is NOT necessary! We smoked the ribs for about 4.5 hours, we do not like it to fall off the bone, but be more firm. You can also use this rub for a full pork tenderloin and smoke it...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a good rub and doesn't have to be exact when measured. But the nutmeg I will leave out next time, just had an aftertaste that didn't sit well with ribs....Omit the nutmeg and you will really enjoy this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Excellent. Wonderful flavour, and now the only rub we use! I haven't used a smoker, but it works well cooked slowly in the oven covered with foil, and adding a touch of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
The chili and cumin added a taste we didn't care for and it was very dominant. If to use again would not add these ingredients for our taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I have tried several different rib rubs. This has got to be the best! He asks for it often. We typically bake the ribs for a little while and then finish them on the grill. However now that the hot weather is here I think we're going t smoke a rack. Thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is THE best smoker's rub I've found! It's good on EVERYTHING from ribs to salmon. Don't smoke without it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was super delish, I only let it sit on the ribs for about an hour, then threw them covered with foil on 280 for 90 minutes then tossed them on the BBQ to finish then off. This would also be great on tri tip.***update, I made this recipe times 4 and stored it, put it on all meat it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I typically prefer savory over sweet when it comes to smoking meats but thought I'd give it a try and I'm glad I did. I used this recipe serving ribs for a party of 10. There was enough rub to adequately cover 4 full racks of spare ribs with the tips still on. Since it was a large party, I only used the black pepper and the chili powder. I left out the ancho and the cayenne and found the heat to be perfect. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I smoked them indirect at 220 degrees on my big green egg for 8 hours and they were absolutely amazing. Hands down the best ribs I've ever eaten and I've eaten a lot of em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great Recipe, a little on the spicy side for some of my guests. Slow cooked ribs in smoker (hickory chips) for 3hrs at 250F. Marinated over night. Substituted New Mexico pepper and ancho pepper with a medium hot chili mix and chilpolte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Homemade Herb Salt

A simple, savory finishing salt that’s also an inexpensive gift idea.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States