CCRyder's Smoker Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I have used this recipe for years. excellent... just as it is! on baby backs, spare, and st louis ribs, pork shoulder, fresh ham, beef ribs, bison, chicken, turkey and even game. it's goes well with it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I just made ribs today with this rub and they were amazing! It was my first time smoking ribs and I'm still new to using the smoker but it was perfect. I rubbed the ribs, refigerated for about 4 hrs, let them come to room temp before putting them in smoker. Smoked at 330 F for 3 hrs then wrapped in foil and cooked another hour then let them sit in the foil for 10 mins or so before opening them. I don't know if it did anything but I added a bit of raspberry vinegar to the pan of water in the smoker since I've read to use apple cider vinegar to tenderize and didn't have any. Thanks for this rub recipe. I will be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I've used this rub several times now on smoked pork butt roasts, and smoked whole chickens. It's important to rub the meat generously with this blend the night before as the directions say. For chicken or turkey rub the inside as well. I think every ingredient is a perfect match for pork and poultry. I've smoked the butts for as long as 17 hours @250 °F, and chickens for 7 hours on average with no problems of burning or bitterness. I appreciate that CCRyder81 shared this great recipe with us…thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is my "go to" rub for all pork I smoke - ribs, butt and shoulder. Rub the meat, wrap in plastic and put into the refrigerator overnight. Smoke the next day and you'll have great tasting meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This recipe made quite a bit of rub, I have used this on ribs, chicken breast, and a whole chicken. The mix of flavors is great! Another reviewer was spot on about using much less regular salt if you don't have sea salt. I used 1/4 cup table salt, but next time I make this I will most likely only use 2-3 tablespoons. If you are basting the meat with prepared BBQ sauce near the end, this will add even more salt. I thought the heat was just right, spicy but definitely not too hot. On another note, I did not have allspice or nutmeg. Based on substitutions I found on the internet, I used 1/2 Tbsp Ginger and 1/2 Tbsp Cinnamon. I thought it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twt75nc

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I have to admit: nutmeg and allspice in a rid rub made me skeptical of the whole thing. I keep trying different rubs on my back ribs and enjoy my ribs without sauce. Rub only with that perfect caramelized layer on top of the most tender meat. I have never written a review before and registered only to do so for this rub. My search is over. Best rub ever, I intend to find the specialized powders for the next batch. Could it possibly get better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
even though I was not able to find some of the more exotic ingredients (hungarian paprika and the special chile powders), I substituted reggula paprika and chile powder and it was tasty. Also halved the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Used this rub then smoked the meat, very flavorful and Spicy Hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is my "go to" rub! I even keep it made up in my refrigerator. Usually rub down my baby back ribs and let them sit in refer overnight. I bake (tightly covered with foil) on a rack at 300 degrees for 2-2-1/2 hours. After cooling I grill using your favorite BBQ sauce. Meat falls off the bones - these are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Impressive mixture of flavours, this one hits all the right notes. I will caution any newbie 'rub'-ers out there: 1) Using table salt is a no-no - the coarse salt used in the recipe should be measured. Substituting the same amount of fine table salt will leave you with an unpleasantly salty rub. 2) If you are not smoking, then as a bare minimum, slow cook for at least 4 hours with this rub. I tried the first batch for 3 hours in a slow oven and the pepper was still overwhelming. Another hour and the heat seemed to 'melt' into the other flavours. 3) Another good reason to go slow (4+ hours) with this rub is it will force you go 'low' in terms of temperature. This rub has a lot of sugar and will burn at higher temperatures. As an inexperienced bbq'r from up north, i gotta say this recipe got me rave reviews. It was well worth fiddling with the timing to get a smokerless version that worked in my slow-cooker/oven. God Bless America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Herb Salt

A simple, savory finishing salt that’s also an inexpensive gift idea.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States