CCRyder's Smoker Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
We made these ribs a few nights ago, and were the best we ever had. We smoked them for six hours, and they were perfect!!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Used this on smoked brisquette and it came out succulent and incredibly tasty, the family loved it. Also used it on grilled chicken breasts and they were some of the tenderest, most flavorful grilled chicken I've ever had. We left off the various peppers for a sweeter taste, but are looking forward to a spicier version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Excellent!! I can't rave enough about this rub. Perfect, perfect, perfect!!! Used on pork ribs and grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
wow. what a great 4th anniversary meal. i cooked them in the slow cooker for 4 hours and then transferred the ribs to the barbeque, using the juice to baste them with. served with coconut rice, grilled mushrooms and sauteed green beans:it made my husband very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
AWESOME!!! Made a few adjustments based on preference and what I had in my spice cabinet... VERY forgiving :) Instead of ancho chile powder (only had regular), I put a large whole dried ancho chile, used fresh rosemary, cut nutmeg and allspice to 1 TS (instead of 1 TB) each and added 1 TS corriander... Not sure why thyme's listed twice...? I just put the 1st amt since too much thyme can be overpowering, maybe the 2nd was supposed to say oregano??? Anyhow, just skipped that part... everything else according to recipe. Blended it all in the food processor til it was even, makes A LOT! I only used 1/2 of it on a full rack of ribs; peeled membrane, soaked 30 mins in apple cider vinegar + worcestershire + splash of liquid smoke (DO THIS! makes ribs super tender and juicy!), then patted dry and rubbed GENEROUSLY. Wrapped in foil, only marinated 4 hours, will do overnight next time! Baked them at 200 for 2 hours (meaty side down!), removed from foil and finished off on the grill with a bourbon molasses glaze and it was SO GOOD!!! LOVE the herbiness of the rosemary & thyme with the sweet of the sugars and glaze... GREAT alternative to standard BBQ ribs. Thanks CC Ryder!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Tried this past weekend. It was very good, but I think that the sugars may have lead to a faint burnt flavor in the ribs. I'm not really complaining as between 3 people 2 whole racks of ribs were devoured. I smoked mine for 2 hours with indirect heat and hickory wood chips soaked in half beer half water and glazed them the last 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Wow! This rub was so delicious. My ribs came out tender, flavorful, with that awesome "crust" that comes from the mixing of the fat and sugars. I used baby back ribs. Rubbed generously and let sit for an hour. I slow-roasted in the oven at 250 for almost 3 hours, then tossed them on the grill 4 minutes each side. The slow-roast portion was strictly because I was going to a friend's house for a bbq and didn't want to monopolize the grill. As it turns out, this is a fantastic way to ensure tender fall-off-the-bones ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe was great! I prepared the rub the day before to allow the ribs to sit in the fridge overnight. They came out zesty and flavorful with a little sweetness. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
The best rub I have found!!! Great on everything, including ribeye steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Herb Salt

A simple, savory finishing salt that’s also an inexpensive gift idea.

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States