CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My family LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
These were the best blackeyed peas I have ever had. very flavorful and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are the most delicious black eyed peas I've ever had, and I'm a Southern girl who grew up eating BEP all my life! I only changed a few things. We had a bone and meat left over from our Christmas ham, so I didn't use bacon. But I will next time I cook this. Also, I used fresh thyme instead of dried, and added celery and bell peppers that I had left over in the fridge. I was surprised how well all the liquid cooked down! Having that amount of liquid helped to really blend all the flavor swell; and the celery, bell peppers, and onions simply disintegrated into the blend so that you don't see them, but can taste their flavoring. My husband and I adore these peas!! I'll be cooking this again in the near future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I added to this by Clean and soak the peas overnight. I also substituted water with chicken stock and instead of bacon I slow cooked with ham hocks. Seasoning was great may have added a pinch more is so of each to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good! Will make again! Add more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
First of all let me say this is the best and easiest black eyed pea recipe ever. I have yet to make peas from dried and have them turn out. I made this recipe for New Year's Day and served it on rice with cornbread sticks. The recipe makes a lot more than we can eat so next time I will cut the recipe in half. Tonite I am adding some of the leftovers to make beef soup. It's almost a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great recipe. I used seasoned salt instead of plain and cooked the peas on the stove top, covered, on medium low for almost two hours. turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe is phenomenal! To me, it is not the recipe provider's responsibility to teach people how to cook, but solely to share a great recipe with directions of how to prepare it. A person should already know how to soak and clean the peas before attempting a dish like this. I used spicy hot link sausages instead of bacon to flavor the peas, but next time I will try bacon as instructed. Also, I had jarred jalapeno's, so I chopped a few and threw them in. Since I am a fan of spiciness, I also added tobasco sauce which made for a great, highly flavored reddish colored juice along with the stewed tomatos for the peas to soak the flavor of. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I only made a couple of changes I cooked the onions garlic and Jalepeno in the bacon grease before I added them and I used fresh black eyed peas. Turned out great bettere the second day. Jus t give yourself plenty of time it takes a while for those things to get soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome! I added a bag of fresh collard greens and a can of Rotel b/c I didnt have jalapeno on hand. It took a long time (8+ hrs) for my black eyed peas to cook even though I soaked them but I have read that the cooking time for BEPs can vary depending on the age of the dried beans. Also, I have read that adding salt and acid (both present in canned tomatoes) can increase cooking time. So, when I make this again I am going to try to cook the beans alone for a few hours before adding the other ingredients. But seriously, this recipes is worth a couple practice runs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States