CB's Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I simmered this in a stock pot since I don't have a slow cooker. I used Anaheim peppers instead of jalapeno because I had a lot of garden peppers to use up. I also used the equivalent amount of a different type of bacon. I soaked the peas the night before, which may not be necessary but its usually what I do. I would like to try this sometime with red beans or pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by della206

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Of course I knew to soak. So I soaked in crock pot for 2hrs and cooked for 4. Total 6hours on low. Made with salted pork. Everything else the same. While family ate and loved. That's rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Winter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My family LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
These were the best blackeyed peas I have ever had. very flavorful and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are the most delicious black eyed peas I've ever had, and I'm a Southern girl who grew up eating BEP all my life! I only changed a few things. We had a bone and meat left over from our Christmas ham, so I didn't use bacon. But I will next time I cook this. Also, I used fresh thyme instead of dried, and added celery and bell peppers that I had left over in the fridge. I was surprised how well all the liquid cooked down! Having that amount of liquid helped to really blend all the flavor swell; and the celery, bell peppers, and onions simply disintegrated into the blend so that you don't see them, but can taste their flavoring. My husband and I adore these peas!! I'll be cooking this again in the near future!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I added to this by Clean and soak the peas overnight. I also substituted water with chicken stock and instead of bacon I slow cooked with ham hocks. Seasoning was great may have added a pinch more is so of each to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good! Will make again! Add more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
First of all let me say this is the best and easiest black eyed pea recipe ever. I have yet to make peas from dried and have them turn out. I made this recipe for New Year's Day and served it on rice with cornbread sticks. The recipe makes a lot more than we can eat so next time I will cut the recipe in half. Tonite I am adding some of the leftovers to make beef soup. It's almost a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great recipe. I used seasoned salt instead of plain and cooked the peas on the stove top, covered, on medium low for almost two hours. turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe is phenomenal! To me, it is not the recipe provider's responsibility to teach people how to cook, but solely to share a great recipe with directions of how to prepare it. A person should already know how to soak and clean the peas before attempting a dish like this. I used spicy hot link sausages instead of bacon to flavor the peas, but next time I will try bacon as instructed. Also, I had jarred jalapeno's, so I chopped a few and threw them in. Since I am a fan of spiciness, I also added tobasco sauce which made for a great, highly flavored reddish colored juice along with the stewed tomatos for the peas to soak the flavor of. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States