Byron's Ginger Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nhpeterson
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is like a choc chip cookie recipe with spice. I didn't have crystallized ginger, so used 2 tsp powdered ginger, 1/8 tsp grd cloves, 1/4 tsp allspice. I also don't believe in shortening so subbed butter for the shortening. Btw I also don't have choc chips, which makes the cookies want them for sure. This is def not your typical ginger cookie. I think they could have used molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Didn't come out like the pictures, but tasty! Never cooked with shortening before, but I liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I despise ginger, so getting a 4 star rating from me for a ginger based recipe is a pretty big deal! My hubby and I are boaters and this is the PERFECT food to eat at sea. Simple carbs are stomach settling and so is ginger; combining the two makes for a happy tummy at sea! This is the first super gingery food I have found that I can stand to eat, and I have tried a zillion recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great! I followed recipe almost exactly. I forgot to add milk, but they came out fine without it. I also, omitted the crystalized ginger, and just used 1.5 tsp of powdered ginger. This added just the right amount, I can't imagine how strong the ginger would be if I had used the amount the recipe called for. I also only used 2.5 cups of mini chocolate chips, and that was plenty. My family LOVES these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
You have to really love strong ginger to enjoy these cookies ... it overpowered all else. Baked flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I can't see how the picture listed for these cookies actually goes with this recipe. My first sheet of cookies flattned like pancakes until I added about 1/4+ of flour. The rest of the cookies kept their shape well enough, but the flavor was nothing special. I halved this recipe to begin with, but I kind of wish that I'd made even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I didn't have chocolate chips :( Mis En Place! Byron, delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Finely chopping the ginger is a pain so instead I made tiny cubes and cut them back to a 1/2 cup. The sweetened chunks of ginger adds an extra chewy surprize. I love these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Absolutely loved these! Definitely do not omit the ginger-it is what makes these cookies delicious and unique. Perfect soft and chewy texture. The recipe was extremely easy to make and chopping the ginger was not hard at all. Also instead of using chocolate chips try using chopped up pieces of chocolate, it melts better and is more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States