Byron's Ginger Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The ginger was very overpowering in these cookies, or at least that's what I thought originally, and I used less. However, after they had cooled and been frozen (I do that with my holiday baking) and tried them again, they weren't as overpowering and most of my coworkers liked them. Maybe the flavor just needed some time to mellow. I can't remember my other changes and my review was cut off, but they did turn out to be pretty cookies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nhpeterson
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is like a choc chip cookie recipe with spice. I didn't have crystallized ginger, so used 2 tsp powdered ginger, 1/8 tsp grd cloves, 1/4 tsp allspice. I also don't believe in shortening so subbed butter for the shortening. Btw I also don't have choc chips, which makes the cookies want them for sure. This is def not your typical ginger cookie. I think they could have used molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Didn't come out like the pictures, but tasty! Never cooked with shortening before, but I liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I despise ginger, so getting a 4 star rating from me for a ginger based recipe is a pretty big deal! My hubby and I are boaters and this is the PERFECT food to eat at sea. Simple carbs are stomach settling and so is ginger; combining the two makes for a happy tummy at sea! This is the first super gingery food I have found that I can stand to eat, and I have tried a zillion recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great! I followed recipe almost exactly. I forgot to add milk, but they came out fine without it. I also, omitted the crystalized ginger, and just used 1.5 tsp of powdered ginger. This added just the right amount, I can't imagine how strong the ginger would be if I had used the amount the recipe called for. I also only used 2.5 cups of mini chocolate chips, and that was plenty. My family LOVES these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
You have to really love strong ginger to enjoy these cookies ... it overpowered all else. Baked flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I can't see how the picture listed for these cookies actually goes with this recipe. My first sheet of cookies flattned like pancakes until I added about 1/4+ of flour. The rest of the cookies kept their shape well enough, but the flavor was nothing special. I halved this recipe to begin with, but I kind of wish that I'd made even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I didn't have chocolate chips :( Mis En Place! Byron, delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Finely chopping the ginger is a pain so instead I made tiny cubes and cut them back to a 1/2 cup. The sweetened chunks of ginger adds an extra chewy surprize. I love these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States