Byrdhouse Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
So delicious! I made it with vegetable broth and had to substitute for sherry but even then it came out great. Very rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This has very good flavor. Its a comfort soup. I followed the recipe to the "T".. Its yummy. I know I will have leftovers as I could only get my son to try it. So for leftovers I have already decided I can add some pasta or rice, to give me another meal with this great tasting soup.. thank you ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Fabulous flavour, I added more mushrooms and some noodles.So quick and easy to make and good enough to impress anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Very good and very easy. Make sure you chop up the spinach. I got lazy and didn't. You know you can't get a whole cooked leaf of spinach on a teaspoon? My wife made me wear a lobster bib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wow, we loved this! I used veg broth and subbed a mix of coconut milk and almond milk for milk, and I used olive oil instead of butter. The flavor combo was just excellent. Easy to make, too. I like it with lots of fresh-ground pepper. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Fabulous soup that can be a whole meal. I made alterations to make it gluten free by using a Gluten free cream soup mix I make and have at hand. The shrimp really are a touch of genius. Spinach and shellfish go so well together. Thank you for this soup that's towards the top if my soup repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggiemonster!!!
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this completely vegetarian, using veggie rather than chicken broth and omitting the shrimp. Also, I added minced garlic and used white onion instead of green, as well as a couple Russet potatoes chopped up relatively small. The nutmeg really brings this recipe together. For extra-awesome taste, try adding a slice of White American cheese during the simmer. Doing so turned this into my favorite soup ever, and really brought it to a new level of deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemonster!!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My husband loved this soup. I thought it needed more flavor, but was very, very good. Will make it again, and maybe add a little garlic or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Incredible flavour! I didn't have any sherry and used white wine instead. Also to bulk up the texture I used king oyster mushrooms - which made it really hearty - a wonderful dinner soup! Thanks for the recipe SunnyByrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Can use Vegetable stock in place of Chicken stock...Sprinkle with fresh grated parmesean cheese right before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States