Byrdhouse Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Very good and very easy. Make sure you chop up the spinach. I got lazy and didn't. You know you can't get a whole cooked leaf of spinach on a teaspoon? My wife made me wear a lobster bib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Fabulous flavour, I added more mushrooms and some noodles.So quick and easy to make and good enough to impress anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This has very good flavor. Its a comfort soup. I followed the recipe to the "T".. Its yummy. I know I will have leftovers as I could only get my son to try it. So for leftovers I have already decided I can add some pasta or rice, to give me another meal with this great tasting soup.. thank you ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by veggiemonster!!!
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this completely vegetarian, using veggie rather than chicken broth and omitting the shrimp. Also, I added minced garlic and used white onion instead of green, as well as a couple Russet potatoes chopped up relatively small. The nutmeg really brings this recipe together. For extra-awesome taste, try adding a slice of White American cheese during the simmer. Doing so turned this into my favorite soup ever, and really brought it to a new level of deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemonster!!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Can use Vegetable stock in place of Chicken stock...Sprinkle with fresh grated parmesean cheese right before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Not quite what I was expecting from the other reviews, but it was still quite good, and my boy really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wow, we loved this! I used veg broth and subbed a mix of coconut milk and almond milk for milk, and I used olive oil instead of butter. The flavor combo was just excellent. Easy to make, too. I like it with lots of fresh-ground pepper. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Fabulous soup that can be a whole meal. I made alterations to make it gluten free by using a Gluten free cream soup mix I make and have at hand. The shrimp really are a touch of genius. Spinach and shellfish go so well together. Thank you for this soup that's towards the top if my soup repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My husband loved this soup. I thought it needed more flavor, but was very, very good. Will make it again, and maybe add a little garlic or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
spinach/soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States