Byrdhouse Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Incredible flavour! I didn't have any sherry and used white wine instead. Also to bulk up the texture I used king oyster mushrooms - which made it really hearty - a wonderful dinner soup! Thanks for the recipe SunnyByrd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This soup was so bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Add 2 heaping Tablespoons of the bottled minced garlic, use Shrimp Stock and add 1/4t Crushed Red Pepper and you will have a soup that is amazing ! (rather than just average as it's written)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
So delicious! I made it with vegetable broth and had to substitute for sherry but even then it came out great. Very rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My husband loved this soup. I thought it needed more flavor, but was very, very good. Will make it again, and maybe add a little garlic or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I also had to perk it up with red pepper flakes and a couple other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggiemonster!!!
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this completely vegetarian, using veggie rather than chicken broth and omitting the shrimp. Also, I added minced garlic and used white onion instead of green, as well as a couple Russet potatoes chopped up relatively small. The nutmeg really brings this recipe together. For extra-awesome taste, try adding a slice of White American cheese during the simmer. Doing so turned this into my favorite soup ever, and really brought it to a new level of deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemonster!!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
spinach/soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was OK for me. A little Bit bland. I think if I make this again I will use less milk and more spices. and maybe even half and half instead of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Fabulous soup that can be a whole meal. I made alterations to make it gluten free by using a Gluten free cream soup mix I make and have at hand. The shrimp really are a touch of genius. Spinach and shellfish go so well together. Thank you for this soup that's towards the top if my soup repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States