Byrdhouse Spicy Chicken and Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Its been a very long time since I have been cooking. This recipe came to me via ALLRECIPES Email. It enticed me back into the kitchen to cook for my husband as we are recent empty nesters. We both LOVED IT! He said, "perfect amount of heat and sweet" & "chicken was so moist and tender". I followed the recipe to a T. (measured EVERYTHING!!) However, I only used one gargantuan chicken breast, sliced into 4 long diagonal strips. I served it, as suggested, with noodles I found in my cupboard (wide, egg noodles). Husband would have rather had linguine. THAT has NOTHING to do with this recipe though. :-) Definitely something I will make again. THAT says ALOT! So excited that I finally NAILED a recipe! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dc3boys
Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
My husband and I found this recipe very good.I didn't have nutmeg so used cinnamon after checking a site for substitutions for it.I held back on the red pepper but wish I'd used a bit more it needs that kick.Add the peaches toward the end .I used frozen and felt they didn't need to be so mushy and that's what I ended up with.I'm on a lower salt diet so all the flavors in this made up for no salt added.All and all healthy I used a George foreman grill for the chicken and no butter.Served with Jasmine rice green beans with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was a big hit! I should have made rice to go with it but I made angel hair pasta and broccoli instead. It was really delicious and this is going to become one of my regular meals. You can change it up to suit your taste but this was flavorful and just plain Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I'm not sure what it was but we did not like this recipe at all. It has a weird combination of spices and a strange taste to it. Will not make again. I was so disappointed because I thought it might be a great recipe. Recipe made as originally written--no changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made this dutch oven style. Nice flavor, recipe doesn't stated over noodles, but that is how it was served. Only changes I would make is onions and peaches added at the last 15 minutes, peaches were pretty mush after simmering so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald Rosquist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this recipe just tonight...I enjoyed it very much, but I did change it up a bit. First I added the juice from peaches to make more sauce, I also added 2 KNORR CHICKEN bouillon cubes to make it more flavorful, I chopped 2 green onion stalks for garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I think I will try this Thai/Hawaii style, substitute fresh mango and fresh pineapple for the peaches and add a couple of Thai tiny red peppers for flavor, aroi mak mak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Very, very good....definitely a keeper. I went easy on the nutmeg and red pepper flakes and served it over rice. Next time, I will make a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. I always read a receipt and then switch it up a bit. I used fresh peaches and added some fresh mango and shallots along with the other ingredients in the receipt I boiled this for a bit to cook the fruit. Then I pureed a little over half of it Used chili peppers and that spiced it up a little too much so I added a can of condensed milk. Cooked the chicken first . Then added it to the sauce and simmered for about 20 minutes. I served this over OrAnge basmati rice steamed some veggies made a salad and it was all a terrific hit!! I've been asked to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I have tried this recipe 2 times, the first I changed nothing and decided that it need something to give it a little kick so on the second try I added 2 Tbsps. of India curry powder and that gave it what I was looking for, Thanks for sharing, you should try the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States