Byrdhouse Spicy Chicken and Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as written, although I did increase the brown sugar from 2 tablespoons to 4 tablespoons. I will make this again, but I will substitute 4 peeled (dip in boiling water) peaches, and vastly reduced spices: 1/2 teapoon basil, 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1 teaspoon nutmeg in addition to increasing brown sugar. If desired, mix 1/2 tablespoon cornstarch with 2 tablespoons water, add to the final product, and cook another minute or two until sauce is slightly thickened and glossy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by DragonFly
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Oh, yeah! Been thinking about this recipe since I added it to my recipe box and it did not disappoint. Doubled the chile flakes, used a frozen basil cube, and added a chopped onion. So good! In the summer I'm going to try a deconstructed version--sauce without peaches, grilled chicken breast, and grllled fresh peaches over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My family really enjoyed this. My only complaint about it is that the sauce was super watery for me. I'll definitely add some corn starch next time. But all the flavors worked really well together, and even tasted great poured over the steamed broccoli I made to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This turned out to be a great surprise! It has the right amount of sweetness vs. heat. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Enjoyed the flavors together. Used fresh basil, added more red pepper flakes (we like it hot!) and served over brown rice. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe and found the basil peach combo to be difficult to handle. The peaches are so great without the basil. The basil too pungent for the peaches. Just leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe but used the peach juice with the OJ. The end result was a flavour that reminded me of a sweet chilli sauce. It was an easy recipe to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Its been a very long time since I have been cooking. This recipe came to me via ALLRECIPES Email. It enticed me back into the kitchen to cook for my husband as we are recent empty nesters. We both LOVED IT! He said, "perfect amount of heat and sweet" & "chicken was so moist and tender". I followed the recipe to a T. (measured EVERYTHING!!) However, I only used one gargantuan chicken breast, sliced into 4 long diagonal strips. I served it, as suggested, with noodles I found in my cupboard (wide, egg noodles). Husband would have rather had linguine. THAT has NOTHING to do with this recipe though. :-) Definitely something I will make again. THAT says ALOT! So excited that I finally NAILED a recipe! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dc3boys
Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
My husband and I found this recipe very good.I didn't have nutmeg so used cinnamon after checking a site for substitutions for it.I held back on the red pepper but wish I'd used a bit more it needs that kick.Add the peaches toward the end .I used frozen and felt they didn't need to be so mushy and that's what I ended up with.I'm on a lower salt diet so all the flavors in this made up for no salt added.All and all healthy I used a George foreman grill for the chicken and no butter.Served with Jasmine rice green beans with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was a big hit! I should have made rice to go with it but I made angel hair pasta and broccoli instead. It was really delicious and this is going to become one of my regular meals. You can change it up to suit your taste but this was flavorful and just plain Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States