Byrdhouse Spicy Chicken and Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
A very interesting dish for sure and might involve an acquired taste. It is unusual in the use of nutmeg and peaches but it all turned out pretty well. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used rice flour instead of all-purpose flour to coate the chicken and did not use butter (used canola oil instead). Overall a wonderful dish and I think I will serve it over broad noodles the next time I make it. Thank you for this unusual but good tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
WOWW! Thanks, SunnyByrd for this rec; Excellent flavor combinations with just the right spiciness. Used frozen peaches and added just a bit of garam masala as the chicken finished cooking in the sauce. Will be make this alot more. Thoroughly enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a fantastic meal. My family and I enjoyed it very much. Love the subtle flavor of the spicy peaches. Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I was looking for something different this week and found this recipe. All I can say is WOW! What flavor. I was skeptical about the sauce combination with nutmeg and basil? But again, WOW. It is now a sure favorite of our family. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
My boyfriend liked this dis, but I wasn't as fond of it. Its an odd pairing/flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Although I love the CONCEPT of this recipe with the sweet, spicy and savory, it just didn't have the right balance of flavors. I found the OJ very overpowering and couldn't really distinguish the rest of the flavors. We served over noodles and the texture was nice, but we won't be making this again. I'd love to say it was good enough to try and tweak to my liking, but it just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
In my 14 years of marriage, there have been two recipes I've tried that my husband and I have declared inedible. This was one of them. We are not picky eaters by any means, and enjoy strongly flavoured dishes of all ethnicities. Thought perhaps it would taste better than it smelled. Not so. Thankfully I tasted it before pouring it over the chicken, so I was able to salvage something for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great recipe. I used balsamic vinegar which turned it kinda dark, but the flavor was delicious. I would use less red pepper next time b/c it was way to spicy for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Perfect. The nutmeg is different than what I usually put in my recipes, and my children value the variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I was searching for something new to make for my five year anniversary dinner for my husband and I. I knew I wanted to use chicken and peaches and this recipe ended up being absolutely perfect. I didn't have nutmeg so I used some allspice and cinnamon. The juice mixture was a little runny b/c I didn't have the full amount of chicken. But it didn't matter. My husband took one bite and couldn't even speak. He kept saying how good it was....really good! I served it over corkscrew pasta. And I used fresh basil instead of dried. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States