Byrdhouse Spicy Chicken and Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Daughter and I cooked this one up. Fantastic dish. Wonder how it would taste with a different type of fruit. Will have to experiement with it more next time. Recipe was on the money for taste and consistancy. Definitely staying in my once a month meal file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
We used about 4 fresh peaches and really loved this dish. Very quick and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This recipe is great. You can regulate the heat by the amount of red pepper flakes you use. I substituted cilantro for basil and omitted the nutmeg. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
PERFECT amount of spice-to-sweet, even for someone like me who doesn't like spicy! Used the reserved peach juice instead of OJ since that's what we had, and that turned out just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Surprisingly good! I did make a few changes: used fresh peaches because I had them, omitted the flour and cooked the chicken in a little olive oil, and used some cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit in the last few minutes of cooking. Great served over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Amazing meal. I made a few small changes: I omitted the flour and cooked the chicken in an olive oil non-stick spray, rather than butter. I also used orange juice with mango and a bit of the syrup from the canned peaches. Served it with some whole wheat pasta and spinach and it was delicious. My GF and I loved the combination of the subtle spiciness of the red pepper with the sweetness of the peaches. I'm definitely keeping this one to make again. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I loved it. Made it as written but added a little corn starch to the flour. I served it over wide noodles and even had the little left overs for my lunch the next day. I can see how you could adapt this for other fruit and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer S

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Followed the recipe using fresh peaches. Very good. Nice lingering heat tingle. Next time I will add a chopped jalapeno towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My family all thought this chicken dish was great! So different from what I normally prepare--my husband said oven fried chicken was getting a little tired. He doesn't care for peaches but I told him to just try it! He ate all the chicken and said it was "not bad", which is a high compliment from my picky dh! I will cut down to 1/4 tsp red pepper next time as it was a little on the spicy side for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I didn't use as much orange juice and nutmeg as the recipe called for. After I made the "sauce" I put it with thighs and breasts in the crockpot for 4 hours on high. At the end, I took off some juice and mixed it with corn starch to thicken it up. This was REALLY good. Not as overwhelming flavors as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States