Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was very hearty and a healthy alternative or a carb (i.e. pasta or white rice) in a meal. I ended up using marsala wine because I mistakenly thought I had sherry (whoops). I added a small amount of olive oil and left the butter out entirely. Basically, I used this recipe as a base for my own creative cooking. The cooking times were dead on (I'm at sea level). One drawback: It looks really unappetizing. I might add some color into it next time - red, yellow or green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Fantastic! I did not have any cooking sherry on hand so I substituted 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup ginger-ale. Also added boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the last 20 minutes. This is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXYPAULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
A+ This was great, I will for sure make this again. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Wonderful! Subbed olive oil for butter eliminated garlic since I can't eat it while breastfeeding. Cooked on the stove top since we had a hot February day here in NC at 67 degrees and didn't want to use the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious. I made some additions- since I was cooking this as a main dish I added some cubed firm tofu when cooking the onions and garlic, and I also added about 1/2 cup of almonds, because I like the way nuts and barley taste together. Other than those changes I made the recipe exactly as called for and it was great. Oh, I also halved the butter and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I added fresh spinach and red pepper when sauteeing the onions, garlic, and mushrooms. I also added some quartered grape tomatoes near the end of the cooking time. I simply cooked it all on the stovetop. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Excellent mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. We just started eating whole grains and will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
FANTASTIC!!!!! This was soooo delicious! I would give it 10 stars if I could! I sauted the onion, garlic and mushrooms in about 2 tbsp. of olive oil instead of butter and made the whole thing on my stovetop! It was infused with so much flavor and the barley had a really nice chewieness to it. You can substitute rice for the barley - but I like using barely as it is a more complex grain than rice. I will definitely come back to this recipe over and over again! Thanx SunnyByrd! (By the way I love your pics! I'm a big fan of yours! Keep the great recipes - and photo shots coming!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Really good! I do love barley and this was just so satisfying. I did use half butter and half olive oil...other than that everthing stayed the same. Will definately make again.....maybe some thyme next time....another spice that goes great with mushrooms....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States