Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Amazing. This somehow seems like a lost flavor from my youth, though I don't remember ever eating it before. My favorite way to eat barley now, and even my 2 1/2 year old asked me to make it again. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was great!! The first time I'd ever had barley aside from soup. Excellent!! I think you could easily use chicken or beef broth w/this depending on your main entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I completely went against the directions in this recipe and subbed away, but don't worry, I got permission of the recipe submitter (seriously, I did, I'm not pulling your leg). I don't have barley and although I looked for it at Trader Joe's, I couldn't find it (weird, huh? I thought they'd have it but oh well), so I used rice instead. I didn't use onions bc I made this for the bf and he doesn't like it when I add onions. So I just added some onion powder and extra garlic. He also doesn't like sherry, so I just left that out. I don't have fresh parsley, so I added about 1/3 of the amount in dried and added with the liquid because I wanted it to absorb some liquid. Since I made rice, I just cooked it in the broth until it boiled, then cooked on low for twenty minutes. Turned out perfectly and bf loved it. Success! I'd tell you how I feel about it but I don't like mushrooms so I didn't try any. Thanks, SunnyByrd, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Delicious! I used pinot grigio ('cause I didn't have any sherry!) but otherwise followed exactly. Very flavorful and comforting and filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Absolutely amazing! Tasted like a risotto without the work and considerably more healthy with the barley. Barley was also super cheap, 99 cents for a one pound bag! Only thing I would change next time is to use only one can of chicken broth and one part water. Was a little too salty for our taste. Had it with pan seared chicken breast and grilled asparagus. A+!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was very hearty and a healthy alternative or a carb (i.e. pasta or white rice) in a meal. I ended up using marsala wine because I mistakenly thought I had sherry (whoops). I added a small amount of olive oil and left the butter out entirely. Basically, I used this recipe as a base for my own creative cooking. The cooking times were dead on (I'm at sea level). One drawback: It looks really unappetizing. I might add some color into it next time - red, yellow or green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Fantastic! I did not have any cooking sherry on hand so I substituted 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup ginger-ale. Also added boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the last 20 minutes. This is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXYPAULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
A+ This was great, I will for sure make this again. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Wonderful! Subbed olive oil for butter eliminated garlic since I can't eat it while breastfeeding. Cooked on the stove top since we had a hot February day here in NC at 67 degrees and didn't want to use the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious. I made some additions- since I was cooking this as a main dish I added some cubed firm tofu when cooking the onions and garlic, and I also added about 1/2 cup of almonds, because I like the way nuts and barley taste together. Other than those changes I made the recipe exactly as called for and it was great. Oh, I also halved the butter and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States