Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have made this recipe multiple times-and it has never failed me! Thanx for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel
Living In: Monsey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved it! Made some adjustments re: vegetables... Added whatever we had in the fridge (sliced celery and a red pepper) around the same time as the mushrooms. I also wanted some meat so I added chicken as well, which was excellent! Our family is a bit over the top with garlic so I always double or triple whatever the recipe calls for. All in all, great recipe!!! Love that it provides great variety over basic rice and pasta for sides or even a main dish, particularly in winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was very good!! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I did not bake it because i used a pre-cooked barley, but it was delicious. Next time I'll bake and add more mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I loved this side dish. I like beef barley soup but i wanted to try something new with barley. The only thing I changed was that I used beef stock instead of chicken broth, and I used brown mushrooms not the white button mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This reminded me of an appetizer I had at an upscale restaurant in Jasper Alberta. It was quail with barley pilaff. This is REALLY good and well worth the effort :D I'm so glad you posted this. I can't wait to serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made barley for the first time today, it turned out really really well!!! I added in 1/2 cup pine nuts which gave it a good flavor. Will most def make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I am totally addicted to this dish. I double the recipe and take it to work for lunch every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Always looking for a good barley recipe. This one is straightforward, but could use more flavor. It's a decent side dish, but not memorable. It doesn't pull me in for a second helping. At least I have a dutch oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This also tastes good with a little Truffle Oil which can be added after cooking. To veganize it - switch out the butter for Sesame Oil ... (nice warming oil for the winter time) The Truffle oil gives the umami taste of meat - so meat eaters and vegans can enjoy a meal in harmony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States